Seychelles to host key East African development forum


The forum is being organised by the subregional office of the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa, whose Intergovernmental Committee of Experts will meet from April 27-29.

Apart from the issue of ICT – which will include training sessions on applying it in e-government and e-trade – the experts will also assess the economic and social conditions of the Eastern Africa subregion during recent years and the progress made by member countries in areas of economic growth, sustainable development and intra-regional trade.

They will also recommend appropriate policies to lessen the impact of the global economic crisis and maintain sustainable economic growth.

The member countries of the subregional office for Eastern Africa are Burundi, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, Tanzania and Uganda.

Send your comment :

Name *

Email *

Comment *