Cycling-Louis and Labrosse triumph in Victoria circuit race


Competing in the hour-long Victoria circuit race on Independence Avenue, cyclist of the year 2008 Louis was faster than Rose in the final sprint to the finish line. They both registered 55 laps in an intense and tactical race.

This is Louis’ second win in as many races on the Victoria circuit, sponsored by the Office of the Mayor of Victoria. A member of the Moto Riders team, Louis won the 45-minute circuit race with a total of 41 laps – the same as Lesperance, Rose, Bristol and Pothin, who finished second, third, fourth and fifth.

Richard Felix (third), Bertrand Lesperance (fourth), Graham Bristol (fifth), Raoul Gomme (sixth) and Leeroy Labiche (seventh) also finished with 55 laps in the 60-minute race last Friday.

Edward Pothin (53 laps), Eric Talma (52) and Ricky Rosalie (49) were ranked eighth, ninth and 10th.
Roy Mougal was the only cyclist not to finish the race as he stopped after 14 laps.

With 47 laps, Nelson Labrosse was first in the mountain-bike category.  He also won the 45-minute race with 32 laps.
Errol Henriette was second with 43, Yves Morel-Duboil third with 40, Fiona Powell fourth with 40 and Ronny Maria fifth with 36.
The cyclists won cash prizes ranging from R50 to R300.

G. G.

Send your comment :

Name *

Email *

Comment *