33rd annual Inter-School Athletics Championships-Winners put titles on the line


Praslin secondary school (secondary category) and Maritime Training Centre (MTC) in the post-secondary category retained their titles last year.

Plaisance succeeded Anse Aux Pins as primary category winner.
Plaisance Primary School, who also won a special cup for best primary under 14, finished with 109 points – six more than Anse Aux Pins’ total.

Last year’s secondary category triumph was the fifth in a row for Praslin secondary school after past wins in 2004, 2005, 2006 and 2007. It succeeded three-time winner Anse Boileau as champion in 2004.
The MTC amassed 111 points – nine more than runners-up the National Institute of Education.

La Digue retained the President’s Fair Play Cup for competitors at primary level with 160 points, while Anse Royale secondary school won it at secondary level with 135 points.

La Digue had won secondary category Fair Play Cup in 2007 after succeeding Anse Royale.

The Seychelles Agricultural & Horticultural Training Centre (SAHTC) won the President’s Fair Play Cup for competitors in the post-secondary category, relegating 2007 winners the National Institute of Health and Social Services (NIHSS) into third place. The Polytechnic finished second.

The best overall schools got shields, which they will keep, and the floating cups.

The other category winners were Anse Aux Pins (boys under 8 with 27 points and girls under 10 with 23 points), La Digue (girls under 8 with 18 points), Plaisance (boys under 10 with 27 points), Baie Ste Anne Praslin (boys under 12 with 22 points), Mont Fleuri (girls under 12 with 26 points), Anse Royale (boys under 14 with 50 points), English River (girls under 14 with 46 points), Praslin secondary (boys under 16 with 97 points, girls under 16 with 96 points and girls under 18 with 89 points), Belonie (boys under 18 with 71 points), MTC (boys open category with 75 points) and NIE (girls open category with 59 points).

G. G.

Send your comment :

Name *

Email *

Comment *