International School Seychelles swim series-Winners to be rewarded tomorrow


Luke Bonnelame Hayden Ah-Wan Shannon Austin Shane Mangroo


After last Friday’s eighth and final round of the series sponsored by the International School Seychelles (ISS) and run by the Seychelles Swimming Association, the school’s headmaster Martin Kennedy expressed his satisfaction as to how the competition was run.

“The series has been very interesting and it has kept the energy flowing,” he said.
Mr Kennedy added that the series has helped to keep swimmers focused and give swimming its rightful place along with some of the most-watched team sports here.

He has urged local swimmers to continue training hard for the remainder of the year and to be ready for the second series.
“The series will be back next year. It will be bigger and more interesting”, added Mr Kennedy.

Eighteen series best times were registered in the final series, bringing to 69 the total improved in the last four rounds.
The record breakers were Hayden Ah-Wan (boys’ 7-9 50m backstroke in 54.89 seconds and the old best of 56.30 seconds belonged to his twin brother Lenel Ah-Wan); Greg Siméon (boys’ 7-9 100m breaststroke in 2:04.56 and the old best of 2:18.63 belonged to Shaun Andriamaro); Martina Ceccato (girls’ 7-9 50m backstroke in 54.44 seconds and her old best was 57.63 seconds, and 200m freestyle in 3:56.71 and her old best was 4:02.35); Nicole Gresselli Barnes (girls’ 7-9 100m breaststroke in 2:17.54 and the old record of 2:19.95 belonged to Emily Barnes); Anisha Payet (girls’ 10-11 50m backstroke in 43.61 seconds and her old best was 44.33 seconds, and 200m freestyle in 3:00.85 and her old best was 3:14.90); Anthony Gendron (boys’ 10-11 100m breaststroke in 1:56.71 and the old record of 1:59.88 belonged to Luke Bonnelame); Luke Bonnelame (boys’ 10-11 200m freestyle in 3:10.560 and his old best was 3:11.38); Maria Marzocchi (girls’ 10-11 100m breaststroke in 1:41.78 and the old record of 1:48.52 belonged to Magdalena Kment-Flynn); Adam Viktora (boys’ 12-13 50m backstroke in 35.86 seconds and his old best was 36.63 seconds, 100m breaststroke in 1:28.90 and his old best was 1:30.72, and 200m freestyle in 2:19.17 and his old best was 2:28.34); Aurelie Fanchette (girls’ 12-13 50m backstroke in 39.59 seconds and her old best was 40.52 seconds, 100m breaststroke in 1:37.80 and her old best was 1:37.92, and 200m freestyle in 2:49.53 and her old best was 2:51.20); and Shane Mangroo (boys’ 14 years and over 50m backstroke in 32.78 seconds and his old best was 32.84 seconds, and 200m freestyle in 2:22.32 and his old best was 2:22.43).

Category winners

Hayden has won the boys’ 7-9 category with 472 points – 94 more than his twin brother Lenel Ah-Wan’s total of 378, while Samuel Rossi has finished third with 344.

In the girls’ 7-9 division, Ceccato has finished first with 444 points, Nicole Gresselli Barnes (355 points) and Sascha Flynn (330) have taken second and third places.

Bonnelame accumulated 438 points to win the boys’ 10-11 division ahead of runner-up Adam Moncherry (346 points) and third place finisher Anthony Gendron (342).

Anisha Payet is the girls’ 10-11 category winner with 464 points, while runner-up Magdalena Kment Flynn got 446 and third place finisher Felicity Passon 332.

The boys’ 12-13 category has been won by Viktora with 500 points. Runner-up Ashen Tennege finished with 386 and third place finisher Dean Hoffman 374.

Fanchette has won the girls’ 12-13 category with 492 points – 88 more than runner-up Clara Omath’s total of 404, while Melissa Jeanne has finished third with 324.

Mangroo is the winner of the boys’ 14 years and over division with 417 points. Runner-up Dwayne Didon and third place finisher Ryan Govinden finished with 378 points each. Didon got the nod ahead of Govinden as he has five first-place finishes compared to the latter’s two.

The girls’ 14 years and over category has been won by Shannon Austin with 458 points. Her sister Shrone has finished second with 406 and Amina Ward-Horner third with 196.

On top of winning their age categories, Viktora and Fanchette, who amassed the highest individual points total for the boys and girls, will receive special prizes.

G. G.

Martina Ceccato      Aurelie Fanchette

Adam Viktora  Anisha Payet

Send your comment :

Name *

Email *

Comment *