National Assembly Election September 29 – October 1, 2011-Voting starts today


The first stations to open will be one at the Baie Ste Anne primary school on Praslin and another at English River (School Meal Centre). Both will open from 7am to 4pm.

The Baie Ste Anne station is restricted to voters from all electoral areas on Mahe who are temporarily working and residing on Praslin and the inner islands.

The one at the School Meal Centre is for voters from all electoral areas who are employed in the essential services and who will be on duty away from their electoral area on the date of election.

Another special polling station will also open at the Regional Old People’s Home at North East Point for voters from all electoral areas who are residing at the North East Point Home for the Elderly and patients of the North East Point hospital.

This station will open from 8am to 12 noon.

Apart from those special stations voting today will also take place on Silhouette (9am to 1pm), Desroches (10.30am to 12.30pm), Coetivy (10am to 11am), Alphonse (8.45am to 9.15am) and Platte (2.30pm to 3pm).

Voting on the outer islands will continue tomorrow at Ile aux Vaches (9am to 10am), Ile Denis (11am to 12 noon), Fregate (2pm to 3.30pm), Farquar (2.45pm to 3.30pm), Darros (9.30am to 11am) and Assumption (11am to 11.30am).

On the main polling day on October 1 all voting stations on Mahe, Praslin and La Digue will open from 7am to 7pm and will be as follows: Anse aux Pins (school dining hall); Anse Boileau (community centre); Au Cap (school dining hall); Anse Etoile (community centre); Anse Royale (community centre); Bel Air (Bel Eau school dining hall); Baie Lazare (school dining hall); Baie Ste Anne (primary school); Beau Vallon (community centre); Bel Ombre (community centre); Cascade (community centre); English River (School Meal Centre); Glacis (community centre); Grand Anse Mahe (primary school dining hall); Grand Anse Praslin (community centre); La Digue & Inner Islands (La Digue District Administration Office); Les Mamelles (community centre); Mont Buxton (Happy Youth Club); Mont Fleuri (secondary school hall); Plaisance (primary school dining hall); Port Glaud (community centre); Pointe Larue (primary school dining hall); Roche Caiman (community centre); St Louis (Belonie school -ex-St John Bosco); Takamaka (community centre).

On October 1, there will also be a special voting station at the Exhibition Wing of the National Library which will open from 7am to 12 noon for voters registered in electoral areas of Praslin and Inner Islands but who would be present on Mahe.

Send your comment :

Name *

Email *

Comment *