Road race, beach football, triathlon highlights of Regatta/Subios weekend


The public had a lot to watch, starting with the Subios ironman and ironwoman contested by teams of three – swimming, canoeing and running – on Saturday afternoon.

The girls’ under-15 ironwoman title was won by The Beauties team of Anisha Payet, Clara Omath and Alison Hoareau in 16 minutes 43 seconds (16:43). Second place went to the Dolphins team of Melissa Jeanne, Julia Joubert and Lara Prosper in 16:54, while the Odd One Out team of Felicity Passon, Charlotte Passon and Nicola Grasselli Barni took third place in 17:35.

The Beauties team won the female under-15 Subios ironwoman title

Christopher Marie, Dean Hoffman and Luke Bonnelame teamed up to win the boys’ under-15 title with a time of 15:42, finishing in front of Sharks Kidz comprising Théo Barois, Noah Jean-Louis and Ryan Alcindor (18:36). Third place went to the team made up of Luca Solei, Kartigai Moddely and Lorenzo Grasselli Barni with a time of 20:26.

The boys’ under-15 title was won by the trio of Christopher Marie, Dean Hoffman and Luke Bonnelame

Famous canoeist Tony Lespoir had swimmer Claude Adeline and long distance runner Keddy Moustache as partners this time on his Challengers team and they still won the 15 and over male race in a time of 14:33 – 1:04 faster than the Swimmers squad of Adam Viktora, Ryan Govinden and Shane Mangroo (15:37).

The Challengers team

Third place was taken by the NicNacs team of Loïc Barois, Alexandre Jovanovic and Mathias Bonne (16:38).
The women’s title was won by the trio of Aliki Brunt, Lucy Talbot Ponsonby and Kate Holt forming the Cool Running team in a time of 21:15.

The Cool Runnings team of Aliki Brunt, Lucy Talbot Ponsonby and Kate Holt

Triple Sec made up of Leigh Storey, Pene Vogt and Zsaklin Miclos finished second in 22:29, while the Trendy Trio of Magdaleen Duvenhage, Jana Duvenhage and Chi-Chi Kleinschmidt finished third in 24:51.

The cash prizes for the top three finishers were R2,000, R1,000 and R500. All winning teams won a trophy sponsored by Tom Bowers.

A total of 13 women’s and men’s teams took part in the 15 years and over class.

Frenchman Beaudry takes 10km win

Male 10km race winner BeaudryFrenchman Nicholas Beaudry took the 10km win and a cash prize of R1,000 in the H. Savy Insurance-sponsored road race held within the Women’s veteran race winner ErnestaRegatta site.

Beaudry’s winning time was 40 minutes 2 seconds and he finished four minutes faster than runner-up James Barra (44:3), while Franky Baccus completed the medals’ podium with a time of 47:2. Barra went home with R700 and Baccus got R500.

Keddy Moustache barely had the time to breathe after helping the Challengers team win the subiosman title that he lined up for the junior 5km race which he won in 19:3 in front of his younger brother Samuel (19:4). Third was Yannick Barra in 20:5.

The girls’ race was won by Elisha Victor in 21:1 followed in second and third places by Diane Belle (21:4) and Marie-Noelle Larue (21:6).

Florise Ernesta ran unchallenged in the female veteran 5km race, finishing in 28:2, while the men’s race was won by Joseph Morel in 20:6. He was followed in second position by José Victor in 21:0.

Meanwhile, the Heineken-sponsored beach football tournament contested by 14 teams was won by Beau Vallon who beat PUC 7-4 in the final.

There was also a fun beach handball tournament.

G. G.

Send your comment :

Name *

Email *

Comment *