Dominoes-Anse Aux Pins, La Salette division champions


After making the drop to the bottom division at the end of last season, La Salette will play with the big guns next year after easily clinching the second division title. All individuals and teams were rewarded on Saturday night at the Mont Buxton community centre – host of the Closing Cup competition won by La Salette.

It has been a very good season indeed for Anse Aux Pins after finishing eighth last year. They finished the two-round league of nine teams with 40 points after collecting 13 wins, a draw and two losses.

Unity finished as runners-up with 33 points (10 wins, 3 draws and 3 losses), Cascade third with 30 points (9 wins, 3 draws and 4 losses), Baie Lazare fourth with 22 points (7 wins, 1 draw and 8 losses), Anse Boileau fifth with 21 points (6 wins, 3 draws and 7 losses), Anse Boileau ‘B’ sixth with 17 points (4 wins, 5 draws and 7 losses), Seychelles Police seventh with 16 points (2 wins, 3 draws and 10 losses), Quincy Village eighth with 12 points (3 wins, 3 draws and 10 losses) and Silhouette ninth with 9 points (3 wins, 3 draws and 10 losses).

Quincy Village will automatically be demoted to the second division, while Silhouette had three points deducted for not turning up for two consecutive matches and have since disbanded.

La Salette, who made the drop to the bottom division for the second time in three years at the end of last season, will take their place among the elites in 2012 after winning the second division title.

This is their second division two triumph in three years after also claiming the title in 2009. Under the guidance of Mamod Essack who finished as runner-up to Accouche as male player of the year, La Salette collected 14 wins, a draw and a loss in 16 games for 43 points.

Dalon (26 points after 8 wins, 2 draws and 6 losses), Mont Buxton (23 points after 7 wins, 2 draws and 7 losses), Seychelles Breweries (19 points after 6 wins, 1 draw and 9 losses) and English River (5 points after 1 win, 2 draws and 12 losses) occupied second to fifth places.

Dalon will accompany La Salette to the first division next year.

Other than the second division title, La Salette won the prize for the most improved team after clinching the One-day tournament, Independence Cup, Seychelles Police Cup and Closing Cup. They were also runners-up to Anse Boileau in the Federation Cup.

The women’s best player is Bena Zelia, replacing former volleyballer of the year and Sportswoman of the Year 1986 Thelma Pierre-Louis who has finished second. Zelia was ranked second in kapot difference, scoring 11 and conceding five. Former player of the year Lizy Freminot scored the highest number of kapot – 12 – and also conceded six. Zelia, Pierre-Louis and Freminot all play for Anse Boileau ‘B’ in the first-tier.

A member of the Cascade team, former footballer Peter Nourrice has succeeded his brother Paul Labiche as the best first division scorer with a difference of +20 kapot (33 for and 13 against). Labiche, who plays for La Salette, has also finished with a difference of +20 kapot (28 for and 8 against) to win the second division best scorer title.

Ernest Bonnelame brought La Salette another individual prize with the best coach award, while Gerard Emile is the best official and Raymond Larue the volunteer of the year.

Cup winners and runners-up of the year 2011
First division league:
Anse Aux Pins (winners), Unity (runners-up)
Second division league: La Salette (winners), Dalon (runners-up)
One-day tournament: La Salette (winners), Unity (runners-up)
Regional Cup: Baie Lazare (winners), Mont Buxton (runners-up)
Federation Cup: Anse Boileau (winners), La Salette (runners-up)
Opening Season: Seychelles Breweries (winners), Silhouette (runners-up)
Independence Cup: La Salette (winners), Seychelles Police (runners-up)
Baie Lazare Cup: Unity (winners) Anse Boileau (runners-up)
Anse Boileau Cup: Unity (winners), Cascade (runners-up)
Seychelles Police Cup: La Salette (winners), Unity (runners-up)
St Andrew’s Cup: Seychelles Breweries (winners), Anse Boileau (runners-up)
Closing Cup: La Salette (winners), Seychelles Breweries (runners-up)

G. G.


Send your comment :

Name *

Email *

Comment *