Karting-Drivers rewarded on special night


  Souvenir photo of the winners

The top prize winners on the night were Liza Rene-Cosgrow and Marc Delcy who have been chosen as the best female and male drivers of the 2011 season. The best young male driver award has been won by Ryan Marianne.

The top-three finishers in each category were rewarded on the night. In the SF Novice class, Rendal Charlette, Angelo Padayachy and Michael Padayachy were ranked, first, second and third.

Ryan Marianne won the six-round SF Cadet division with 149 points in front of Rodney Salome (121) and Julio Chetty (110). With a total of 176 points and seven first-place finishes, Arnold Mein dominated the SF Junior class, finishing ahead of Chan Decommarmond (136.5) and Rennick Bonnelame (122.5).

Montel Kurz was challenged all the way by Andrew Gabriel in the SF S2 class, but won it in the end with 134 points – four more than runner-up Gabriel’s total. Christian Port-Louis finished third in the six-round championship with 110 points.

Rene-Cosgrow won three of the four races in the SF Ladies’ class to finish first with 92 points, relegating Debra Mellon (84.5) and Bernadette Mein (58.5) into second and third places.

Marc Delcy won the closely contested six-round SF S1 division championship with 210 points, while Peter Fred (112) and Damien Bonnelame (104) finished second and third.

Dave Rene picked up three wins to claim the SF KGP class contested over four rounds. He finished with 67.5 points to beat his daughter Rene-Cosgrow into second place with 65 points. Third was Stephen Simon with 47 points.

Winners of the season-ending endurance karting event with 91 laps, Team LMD, comprising leader Liza Rene-Cosgrow, Montel Kurz and Dane Decommarmond, were also rewarded along with Team Dot.Com (second with 88 laps), Team Mavericks (third with 87 laps), Team DRC (fourth with 86 laps), Team Toto (fifth with 82 laps) and Team YMR (sixth with 73 laps).
Terrence Gabriel has once again been chosen as the best official of the year.

Re-elected Seychelles Karting Association (SKA) chairperson for a two-year term at the start of the year, Liza Rene-Cosgrow said she is happy with how things went on this season.

“Despite the many interruptions due to the hosting of the 8th Indian Ocean Island Games and heavy rain on race days, the season went along fine and the drivers made the most of the racing opportunities,” said Rene-Cosgrow.

She added that the SKA is to receive two Honda GX 160 engines from EHW, the authorised Honda dealer in Seychelles. EHW will also be SKA’s supplier of Honda spare parts for all karts.

Earlier this year, the SKA got three new engines which helped upgrade the level of competition among the drivers. The three engines – Honda GX160 and Honda GX200 – were sponsored by the Development Bank of Seychelles, John Simon and Excel Motors.

Local kart drivers also received 30 new racing suits from Eden Island Marina and Hunt, Deltel & Co Ltd this season.

The SKA would like to thank Seychelles Breweries, Cable & Wireless, George Delcy, Hunt Deltel and John Simon for their sponsorship.

G. G.

Send your comment :

Name *

Email *

Comment *