Volleyball-Captains Mangroo and Agnes Seychelles’ best volleyballers


This season’s best players in a souvenir photo with Mr Florentine. Absent are Agnes and Vel

The results agreed by a 13-member panel were announced last Friday during a ceremony at the Stad Linite lobby at Roche Caiman, in the presence of Seychelles Volleyball Federation (SVF) chairman Jude Florentine, players, coaches and officials.

The judging panel comprises nine SVF executive committee members, three coaches and an official.

Among the criteria used to choose the best players are discipline, role model, performance and participation – both at national team and club level.

Premium Spikers’ setter Mangroo has now won back-to-back player of the year title after claiming it for the first time in 2010, while Agnes, who plays volleyball at professional level with Neuville Sports in France, has won the female volleyballer of the year title for the second time. Her first win was in 2006.

France-based Ricky Vel who plays for Brive and Arsu’s Tina Agathine finished as runners-up.

Petrina Victor (Juniors) is this season’s best female young player, while Leeroy Morgan (Juniors) is the best male young volleyballer.

Marie-Ange Bouchereau is this year’s best coach, while Michael Ah-Kong has been chosen as the best official.

A delighted Mangroo said he was expecting to be among the best as a result of his hard work both at club and national team level. He credited the achievement to his devotion and discipline all throughout his career.

Giving a brief account on the 2011 season, SVF chairman Florentine said it has been a very interesting and successful one.
R. D.

Send your comment :

Name *

Email *

Comment *