Voter registration starts today


Stations across Mahe, Praslin and La Digue will remain open up to Sunday January 22, and will receive members of the public from 3pm-6pm Monday to Friday, and from 10am-2pm on Saturdays and Sundays.

However, those same stations will be open from January 23 to January 26 between 3pm and 6pm for the purpose of receiving any claim or objection only.

There will also be a station at the electoral commission’s office, Room 203, Aarti Building, Mont Fleuri, where all eligible voters, irrespective of their constituency, can go and verify their names. This particular station opens from 10am-noon and from 1pm-6pm Monday to Friday, and from 10am-2pm on Saturdays and Sundays.

Members of the public are asked to bring along necessary papers and documents when they come to verify their names, especially those who have just turned 18, those who have just married or changed their names through divorce, and those who have been living abroad. ID cards are acceptable for most people, but marriage certificates or divorce papers should be brought to show changes of name in those cases.   

The voters’ registration exercise is a legal requirement and must be done at the beginning of each year.

The places where the voters’ register can be inspected in the various electoral areas are as follows:

Anse Aux Pins (Anse Aux Pins school); Anse Boileau (Anse Boileau community centre); Anse Etoile (Anse Etoile community centre); Anse Royale (Anse Royale secondary school, Anse Royale police station); Au Cap (Pointe Au Sel church, Lenstiti Kreol, St Joseph); Baie Lazare (Baie Lazare creche); Baie Ste Anne (Baie Ste Anne community centre); Beau Vallon (Beau Vallon creche); Bel Air (Bel Air community centre); Bel Ombre (Bel Ombre community centre); Cascade (Cascade community centre); English River (English River school); Glacis (Glacis office of district administrator, North East Point Rehabilitation Centre); Grand Anse Mahe (Grand Anse Mahe school, La Misere School); Grand Anse Praslin (Grand Anse Praslin community centre); Inner Islands (La Digue office of district administrator); Les Mamelles (Les Mamelles community centre); Mont Buxton (La Rosiere school); Mont Fleuri (Faculty of Education – ex-NIE); Plaisance (Plaisance office of district administrator); Point Larue (Pointe Larue creche); Port Glaud (Port Glaud school); Roche Caïman (Roche Caïman community centre); St Louis (Belonie school – ex-St John Bosco); Takamaka (Takamaka office of district administrator).

All electoral areas (Aarti Building, Room 203, Mont Fleuri).

Send your comment :

Name *

Email *

Comment *