Sports Awards of the Year 2011-President Michel decorates Camille and Julie


The winners in a souvenir photographer with President Michel, guests and sponsors

This is Camille’s first title and she succeeds weightlifter Janet Georges who, like javelin specialist Lindy Leveau-Agricole, has won the crown four times.

The second badminton player after cousin Juliette Ah-Wan to win the coveted title, Camille captured four medals – a gold, two silver and a bronze – at the 8th Indian Ocean Island Games held here. She also won two silver in the mixed doubles and ladies’ doubles silver, and a bronze in the team event at the 10th All-Africa Games.

As Laser sailor Julie, who came out of retirement last year to win the gold medals at the 8th Indian Ocean Island Games and 10th All-Africa Games, has now won the Sportsman of the Year title a record six times. His previous wins came in 2000, 2001, 2002, 2004 and 2005.

First Lady Natalie Michel, Vice-President Danny Faure, Designated Minister Vincent Meriton, who is also responsible for Community Development, Youth and Sports, other ministers, principal secretaries, chief executives and representatives of sponsors also gave out the prizes during the annual ceremony organised by the National Sports Council to reward the best female and male athletes of the young and senior categories for the previous year’s sporting season.

Send your comment :

Name *

Email *

Comment *