Athletics: cross-country series-Category winners earn prize-money


Herbert Adrienne   James Barra   Simone Zapha   Ned Azemia


Samuel Moustache   Florise Ernesta   Ezra Almaze   Keddy Moustache

The third and last race took place last Saturday at the Roche Caïman fitness trail and saw Ned Azemia, Florise Ernesta and James Barra complete clean sweep of wins under a scorching sun.

Having already won the first two races, Azemia again reached the finished line first in the male under-16 2km (one lap) race in 6 minutes 48.5 seconds (6:48.5) to pocket R300. Ian Volcère was second in 6:53.8 and Jovanie Bouzin third in 7:02.3. Bouzin got R200 and Volcère R100.

James Barra got a third win in as many races in the men’s senior 12km (six-lap) race, reaching home in 49:23.8 and second was Franky Baccus in 51:57.4. Barra pocketed R1,000 and Baccus got R800.

Florise Ernesta reached the finish line of the female veteran (over-40) 6km (three-lap) race in 33:31.8, bringing to three her number of wins in this category. Her times in races number one and two were 36:53.3 and 33:22.2 and she got R800. Runner-up in a time of 34:05.8, Maggy Harray got R600.

Marie-Noella Larue garnered a second victory in a row in the girl’s 2km race, winning in 8:45.1 to go home with R300. She was followed in second and third places by Naomie Barra (8:49.7) and Diane Belle (8:52.7). Belle got R200 and Barra R100 for their efforts.

After dropping out of the first race and finishing as runner-up in the second, Ezra Almaze was victorious in Saturday’s third female youth under 18 4km (two-lap) race in a winning time of 17:56.9 to receive R500. Runner-up Stefanie Underwood (18:39.6) and third place finisher Sheryl Lepathy (19:52.2).  Lepathy finished second overall to get R300 and Underwood was third for R200.

Vanessa Cherry, who won the second race in 17:17.6 after missing the first, settled for fifth position.

With race number two winner Roch Bamboche glued on the bus stop at North East Point for more than one hour, Samuel Moustache took control of the male 4km (two-lap) race to win in 14:23.0 to receive R500, relegating Steward Louise (14:25.8) and Benjamin Kilindo (14:30.3) into second and third places. Both Louise and Bamboche finished locked on four points and settled for second and third places for R300 and R200.

Running unchallenged for the second time after missing the first female junior (under-20) 6km (three-lap) race, Dyniz Bristol won in 44:42.9, earning herself R800.

The only record breaker in the series with a new time of 28:48.1 during the second 8km (four-lap) race for male junior (under-20), Keddy Moustache was absent for race number three as he was in Mauritius on a training camp with the St Michel football team. He still won the category and pocketed R800.

In his absence, Ryan Labrosse clocked 36:37.4 to win the race, but he only finished second overall to get R600.
Anna Barra reached the finish line of the female senior 8km (four-lap) race in 37:04.1 – 1:36.7 ahead of Simone Zapha who had dominated the first two races in times of 36:13.5 and 35:20.7. Barra got R800 for finishing second overall behind Zapha who was sure of finishing first for R1,000.

Herbert Adrienne arrived just in time for the male veteran 8km (four-lap) race and won in 32:40.7 for his second win in the series. He pocketed R800, while runner-up Joseph Morel (33:31.8) and third place finishers Michel Dixie (34:05.6) got R600 and R400.

We also publish the photos of the category winners, except for the girl under-16 and female junior.
All top-three finishers in each category are asked to contact the Seychelles Athletics Federation on 2722736 for their prize-money.

G. G.

Send your comment :

Name *

Email *

Comment *