Karting: Junior category round one-Marianne and Padayachy winners


In the SF5 class, Marianne took victory in the seven-lap final with a time of 4 minutes 18.51 seconds (4:18.51), with Julio Chetty finishing second and Amadave Camille third.

Rodney Salome, who had earlier won a heat, tangled with another kart while in second place and dropped to fourth at the end after losing three laps trying to get his kart back on track. Arnold Mein did not feature in the final result following a misunderstanding in class regulations.

Marianne, who won last year’s Cadet class, had a tough time concentrating as he nearly spun out a few times, while Chetty drove confidently and was always a threat.

In the SF6 division, Michel Padayachy won with a winning time of 5:22.22 registered in the first heat. Anyl Gonthier took second place and Angelo Padayachy finished third. Greg Olivia was fourth while Keval Shakida took fifth position.

In the final, Michel Padayachy started in pole position and was first into the first corner while the other drivers fought for the other positions. Gonthier drove steadily to overcome Angelo Padayachy, and at times looked liked catching up on the leader, but time was not on his side.

Shakida drove well but ran into a few problems along the way and had to settle for fifth position.

Michel Padayachy set the fastest lap of the day in this class with 39.21seconds.
Round two will take place on Saturday May 5.

Send your comment :

Name *

Email *

Comment *