Darts: President’s Cup-Vidot succeeds Berlouis as champion


VIDOT … President’s Cup winner 2012

Vidot trailed Reuben Port-Louis 2-0 in the best-of seven final, but mustered his way back into the match with four consecutive victories in as many games to capture the title on a 4-2 score.

Vidot won pool B with six points to progress to the quarterfinal where he dispatched Darel Siméon 2-0 to set up a semifinal showdown with Justin Hermitte whom he edged 3-2 to reach the final.

As for Port-Louis, he was the joint-second highest scorer with Siméon from pool A and he needed all three games in the quarterfinal to eliminate Ranga Chetty on a 2-1 score. In the semifinal, he met outgoing champion Berlouis and he made no mistake to win 3-2 despite squandering a two-game lead.

Saturday’s President’s Cup singles attracted 14 players, including two ladies – Monia Delpeche and Debra Desaubin – and they played in two groups of seven. The top two in each pool progressed to the knockout phase.

In the third place play-off encounter, Berlouis whitewashed Hermitte 3-0 and Chetty finished with the highest score of 180.

For the second year running, seven-time winner James Morel (2000, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006 and 2010) did not take part in the competition.

G. G.

Send your comment :

Name *

Email *

Comment *