Anse Aux Pins by-election-Voting starts today


Polling today is for voters registered in the Anse Aux Pins electoral area but temporarily staying or working on outer and inner islands.

There will be polling stations on Bird Island, which will open from 2.30pm to 2.45pm, Silhouette (10.35am to 11.15am), Farquhar (12.15pm to 12.30pm), Desroches (4.30pm to 5pm), Coetivy (9.30am to 9.45am), Alphonse (3.15pm to 3.30pm), D’Arros (11.30am to 11.45am), Marie-Louise (10.30am to 10.45am) and Baie Ste Anne (8am to 12 noon).

Anse Aux Pins voters on Mahe will go to the polls on Friday August 10 and voting will take place in the district’s primary school dining hall from 7am to 7pm.

The three candidates contesting the by-election are Meggy Marie of Parti Lepep, Jane Carpin of the Popular Democratic Movement (PDM) and independent candidate Lucas Georges.

The National Assembly seat for Anse Aux Pins fell vacant when former member Jhowla Manoo tendered his resignation on July 11, 2012.

Send your comment :

Name *

Email *

Comment *