Seychelles Basketball Federation (SBF) Cup-Stars clinch back-to-back league and cup doubles,Hawks complete clean sweep


Watched by Land use and Habitat Minister Christian Lionnet, community development and sports principal secretary Denis Rose, National Sports Council chief executive Alain Volcère and a big crowd, the two matches were beamed live on Seychelles Broadcasting Corporation (SBC) TV.

Young star Malbrook power team to victory

ANSE ETOILE STARS ... back-to-back league and cup double

Female player of the year Jana Malbrook guided the Stars to a 73-49 win to complete back-to-back league and cup double, while  Neddy ‘Oye’ Fanchette was instrumental in his team’s 111-61 victory against MBU Rockers coming off the bench for a clean sweep of all the titles.

It was always going to be daunting tasks for Mont Fleuri and MBU Rockers to stop the great Stars and Hawks in their quest to grab the second-most important trophies in local basketball to complete an all-conquering season, but they must be congratulated for giving it their best shot although many fans felt the matches were one-sided.

Since losing the semifinal 58-61 in over-time to Mont Fleuri who went on to win the Curtain-raiser title, the Stars haven’t tasted defeat and they wanted to finish the season on a positive note.

Having played well for her team for the whole of the season, Jana Malbrook did not want to live in the shadow to her mother Simone Malbrook who has often times carried the team to victory in past finals.

One of Seychelles’ brightest female basketball hopes, Jana, 17, finished with a game-leading 31 points, including one 3-pointer, to spearhead the Stars to a 73-49 victory against Mont Fleuri who got 25 points from Bernadette Songor and 12 from veteran Tracey Hétimier.

Player of the year Jana Malbrook (with ball) takes on the Mont Fleuri defence

With five treys for 15 points, Dynah Louis was the second best scorer for the Stars who won all four quarters 22-9, 16-12, 16-10 and 19-18 as coach Michel Malbrook gave all his players some playing time.

“It feels good to win back-to-back league and cup double,” Simone Malbrook told Sports Nation.

“After reclaiming the titles last year, we made sure of keeping them this season. I would also like to thank all the players for their contributions, commitment and discipline displayed during the whole of the season. The good mix of young and experienced players really made the difference,” added Simone Malbrook.

Solomon, ‘Oye’ help Hawks steamroller Rockers

On paper, the Hawks were too strong for the Rockers and with the best starting five in the game they brought their superiority onto the court as they once again reached the century mark in a landslide 111-61 win.

PLS HAWKS … clean sweep

Nigerian Alao Solomon again used the game to show his class with some powerful jams to delight his fans, finishing with a game-high 34 points as the Hawks used their watertight defence to break down the Rockers’ offence.

Coach Alix Allisop’s players made the most of the possession as they started taking double-digit leads at 23-13 as early as in the first quarter. Jean-Paul Desaubin closed the second quarter with a lay-up which brought the Hawks’ lead to 26 points – 50-24.

The Hawks then used a 22-11 run to open up a 37-point advantage at 72-35 and the best the Rockers could do in the third 10-minute spell was limit the damage to 32 points – 74-42 on a centre Keven Morel jumper.

As the substitutes helped the Hawks still stay in control in the fourth and final quarter to lead by five points – 94-48 – their starting five were applauded by the public as they came back on to finish off the work they had started – going on a 17-13 run that included two power jams by Solomon in traffic.

“It’s been a remarkable season and our opponents haven’t been able to match the intensity we brought to the venue each time we came to play. Hawks have played in a different league this year. I’m also happy to win the player of the year award as I did not expect it,” 27-year-old ‘Oye’ told Sports Nation.



2012 basketball hall of fame
Women’s Curtain-raiser winners – Mont Fleuri
Women’s Curtain-raiser runners-up – HotShots
Women’s league winners – Anse Etoile Stars
Women’s league runners-up – Mont Fleuri
Women’s SBF Cup winners – Anse Etoile Stars
Women’s SBF Cup runners-up – Mont Fleuri
Young female basketballer of the year – Sarah Rose (Juniors)
Runner-up young female basketballer of the year – Laura Françoise (Juniors)
Female basketballer of the year – Jana Malbrook (Anse Etoile Stars)
Runner-up female basketballer of the year – Agnes Bristol (Mont Fleuri)
Female MVP – Tracey Hétimier (Mont Fleuri)
Men’s Curtain-raiser winners – PLS Hawks
Men’s Curtain-raiser runners-up – Premium Cobras
Men’s league division one winners – PLS Hawks
Men’s league division one runners-up – Premium Cobras
Men’s SBF Cup winners – PLS Hawks
Men’s SBF Cup runners-up – MBU Rockers
Men’s league division two winners – Beau Vallon Heat
Men’s league division one runners-up – Praslin Warriors
Men’s division cup winners – Beau Vallon Heat
Men’s division two cup runners-up – AAP Brothers
Young male basketballer of the year – Mervyn Aglaé
Runner-up young male basketballer of the year – Marius Freminot
Male basketballer of the year – Neddy Fanchette (PLS Hawks)
Runner-up male basketballer of the year – Amadou Sylla (Premium Cobras)
Male MVP – Alao Solomon (PLS Hawks)
Referee of the year – Darryl Nourrice
Table official of the year – Christine Boniface
Coach of the year for female team – Michel Malbrook (Anse Etoile Stars)
Coach of the year for male team – Alix Allisop (PLS Hawks)
Volunteer of the year – Allen Dufresne


G. G.

Send your comment :

Name *

Email *

Comment *