Fitness Seychelles-Winner Barra pulverises Mahe crazy challenge record


Women’s winner Harray (left) and men’s winner Barra

Second behind Herbert Adrienne last year after having won the 2010 race in a then record time of 9h03: 18, Barra returned as the champion in style on Saturday.

His new time of 8h52:09 is almost 1h24 faster than the time of 10h16:07 – a personal best – clocked by runner-up Adrienne.

Boxer Dave César finished third in 11h43:40 and was followed in fourth place by Hervé Nicholas in 12h21:18. Philip Louange and Jimmy Jacques were joint-fifth with 13h39:58.
Louange, 60, was also the oldest competitor in the race.

Like last year, Maggie Harray was the only female competitor to complete the distance in 14h59:39 – just over 30 minutes faster than the time she took last year (15h31:20).

Simone Jaffa holds the record of 12h23:56 set in 2010.
Gerard Tirant, 14, was the youngest competitor and was eighth and last to finish the race in 15h31:13.

Thirty-six competitors took the start at Stad Popiler and headed for Bel Ombre via Anse Etoile.

They then took a footpath leading to Anse Major and Cap Ternay. After walking and running along the western coast, they headed south to reach Takamaka before returning to the Stad Popiler via the Providence Highway.

Evolution of the Mahe crazy challenge men’s record

2004: Philippe Louange – 14h30
2005: Payet twin brothers Gordon and Claude –12h45
2006: Payet twin brothers Gordon and Claude – 11h14:22
2009: Roy Jean-Baptiste – 10h53:13
2010: James Barra – 9h03:18
2012: James Barra – 8h52 :09

G. G.

Send your comment :

Name *

Email *

Comment *