Music Award honours local artists-. Ambitious, Sandra best male and female recording artists of the year


The winners in a souvenir photograph with Minister St Ange and other guests

The red carpet event was held at the International Conference Centre on Friday evening and was attended by Minister for Tourism and Culture Alain St Ange, principal secretary for culture Benjamine Rose, chief executive of the National Arts Council Jimmy Savy and sponsors, among others who came to give their support to the artists.

Mr St Ange thanked all artists for their contributions in the music industry and had words of encouragement for them.

He re-affirmed his ministry’s commitment to continue promoting local artists and the music industry.

Mr St Ange also thanked the organisers for such an initiative and said the award will receive international coverage in the future.

The award was eligible for work released from January 2011 to October 2012.

Seychelles Breweries Limited was the main sponsor of the event and Laguna Lounge the co-sponsor.
Finalists were grouped into seven categories which were the best male recording artist of the year, best female recording artist of the year, best new male recording artist of the year, best new female recording artist of the year, best group or duet recording artists of the year, best song recording of the year and best sega recording artist of the year.

Aside from the seven categories, there was an honorary award to reward veteran artists who have made a significant contribution to the music industry.

Winners received a trophy in the shape of a Zez – a local traditional music instrument – and a cash prize.

Well-known local artists from Praslin Ambitious received the award as the best male recording artist of the year. Other nominees for this category were Mercenary, Curious, KJ and Ion Kid.
Sandra clinched the trophy for being best female recording artist of the year. Telsy, Angelique, Rahna Jules and Angel were the other nominees in this category.

The award for the best new male recording artist of the year went to Highness who has joined the world of music. He was voted as the best among two other nominees – A Plus and JPD.

For the best new female artist of the year Rahna Jules and Daniella Larue were the only nominees. It was Rahna Jules who was awarded with the trophy and cash prize.

Curious and HB, Sandra and Ion Kid, KJ, Curious and Extra Big, Lo Peron Production and YF Crew were the nominees in the best group/duet recording artists of the year category. The judges voted Curious and HB as the best in this category.

Refiz by Ion Kid was judged as the best song recording for the year. His song was competing along Repoz mon leker by Ambitious, Koupab by Curious, En Lot Lannwit by Sandra, Dan mon Rev by Extra Big, KJ and Curious and Akoz ou’n ale by Lo Peron Production.

The best sega recording of the year award went to Angelique with the song Kouler Vanille.

Lanmen Anler by Island Vibration, Fo Promes by Extra Big and KJ, Mon’n Kontan ou by Sandra and Aste ou mete by Francois Havelock and Elijah were the other songs nominated in this category.

For this first Music Award, the organisers and judges chose to nominate artists who were born between the years 1940-1950 for the honorary award.

Veterans in this category were Celine Dine, Despilly William, Jeanne Legge, Douglas Cedras, David Philoe and John Wirtz. It was John Wirtz who clinched the honorary award during that evening.

Send your comment :

Name *

Email *

Comment *