Athletics-No record in first race


Steward Louise                       Florise Ernesta

No record was improved in the first race as the runners, who had quite a long break, struggled to get back in form under a scorching sun, but they have a month to get ready for the second race on January 19, 2013. The third and final race is slated for February 2, 2013.

Marie-Nella Larue is the winner of the girls’ under-16 2km (1-lap) race in a time of 8 minutes 22.4 seconds (8:22.4). She was followed in second place by Naomie Barra (8:42.1), Dianne Belle (third in 9:01.2), Meryle Rabat (fourth in 9:48.0), Laurene Mousbé (fifth in 10:13.4) and Jessy Eulentin (sixth in 10:48.3).

Gerard Tirant finished first in the boys’ under-16 2km (1-lap) race with a time of 7:54.3, relegating Rondy Bristol (7:55.6) and Jean Eulentin (10:01.1) into second and third places.
Estelle Lepathy ran unchallenged in the female under-18 4km (2-lap) race, clocking 16:11.1.
Victory in the male under-18 4km (2-lap) race went to Travis Boniface in a time of 14:01.8, with Yannick Magnan (14:10.9), Benjamin Kilindo (14:33.6) and Yannick Barra (18:06.1) finishing second, third and fourth respectively.

Steward Louise won the male junior (under-20) 8km (4-lap) race unchallenged in a time of 35:17.7, way off Keddy Moustache’s record of 28:48.1 set on February 7, 2012.

Finishing in 40:47.3, Anna Barra did not trouble Simone Japha-Dick’s female senior (over-20) 8km (4-lap) record of 32:53.8 set on February 14, 2009.

Ivan Moïse easily won the male senior (over-20) 12km (6-lap) race in 44:39.2 but he was way off Simon Labiche’s three-year-old best mark of 38:57.5 set on January 24, 2009.
James Barra (46:27.3), Keddy Moustache (50:38.8) and Jim Louis-Marie (1h04:30.3) were ranked second, third and fourth.

Florise Ernesta dominated the female master (over-40) 6km (3-lap) distance with a time of 32:39.6 and she was followed in second place by Maggy Harray in 37:31.34.

Vivienne Vadivello holds the record of 29:25.0 over the distance and she set it on February 19, 2011.
In the absence of record holder Herbert Adrienne, Jose Victor won the male master (over-40) 8km (4-lap) race in 35:07.6. Adrienne set the record of 31:06.6 on February 19, 2011.

G. G.

Send your comment :

Name *

Email *

Comment *