Top Racers win inaugural Eco-Friendly relay marathon


Group photo of the runners who took part in the relay marathon

Eight teams – six men and two women – were on the starting line of the race which, apart from being a new event, served as preparation for those taking part in the Eco-Friendly marathon which will take place on Sunday February 24.

Boasting the Moustache brothers – Samuel and Keddy – Yannick Magnan, James Barra, Benjamin Kilindo and Steward Louise, Top Racers finished ahead of second-placed East Coast Elite with Randy Gappy, Thomas Kilindo, Herbert Adrienne, Simon Labiche, Franky Baccus and Philip Laboudallon. The East Coast Elite team clocked 2h40.10.

Team Scorpion with Jemmy Anacoura, Ivan Moïse, Anthony Lebon, Gino Bamboche, Cyril Edmond and Macshane Botsoie were third in 2h41.11.

Medrick Jean-Baptiste, Joshue Victor, Vincent Confait, Vincent Bandon, Roy Jean-Baptiste and Leroy Labrosse combined to form the East Coast Storm team who finished fourth in 3h06.05.

The Anse Royale secondary school team of Jovanie Bouzin, Yannick Barra, Leeroy Barra, Travis Boniface, Aldo Rose and Valentino Labrosse completed the race in 3h14.20 to claim fifth place.

Hawks, with Chetan Prakesh, Sean Sajan, HK Singh, Abhishek Singh, CS Dorge and Kaustav Bhadra were sixth overall in 3h54.30.

In the women’s category, Anse Royale secondary school with Marie-Noella Larue, Sheryl Lepathy, Andria Auguste, Estelle Lepathy, Dianne Belle and Naomie Barra finished first in 3h31.21 for the event’s new female record.

Top Racers with Hillary Robert, Anna Barra, Lissa Agniesse, Maggie Harray, Franchesca Course and Florise Ernesta were the runners-up in 3h33.18.

All teams who took part in the event were made up of six members – male and female separate – who ran 5km, 10km, 5km, 10km, 5km and 7.195km respectively.

The winning teams in each category received R3,000, while the runners-up pocketed R2,000. Third-placed teams received R1,000.

Meanwhile, the annual Eco-Friendly marathon held every last Sunday of February will this year take place on February 24, starting at 7am at Beau Vallon.

There will be the marathon, half-marathon, 10km, 5km and 10km walking.
The registration fees for locals are marathon – R200, half-marathon – R100, 10km – R50, 5km – R25 and 10km walking – R25.

For the half-marathon competitors must be at least 16 years on race day, while competitors in the 10km race must not be younger than 12 years old on race day.

Deadlines for registration are January 31 for overseas runners and February 15 for locals.

Entries from outside Seychelles must be applied through e-mails – This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. , while locals can register in person at the National Sports Council or, through e-mail ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. ).

For further enquiries or Information, please contact the Race Committee at the NSC on 248 4671208 or 248 2722333.
They can also visit the website:

R. D.

Send your comment :

Name *

Email *

Comment *