Volleyball-Players join new teams as season starts with SVF Shield matches


Premium Spikers, who have lost big man Percy Riaze – a Seychelles international – to Neo Boyz, will renew their rivalry with Beau Vallon tomorrow in the men’s SVF Shield match. After winning last year’s match on a 3-0 (25-20, 25-23, 25-17) score, Premium Spikers will be gunning to retain the title for a third consecutive year and make it six wins after past victories in 2003, 2004, 2009, 2011 and 2012.

As for Beau Vallon, who have lost setter Kevin Roseline to Neo Boyz but acquired Dave Boniface from Racing Club, they have won the title eight times.
The women’s SVF Shield match will pit SVF Cup reigning champions Arsu against defending league champions Friends.

One of Seychelles’ most successful women’s team, Arsu lost last year’s SVF Shield match to Cascade and this year they have reinforced their squad with the inclusion of Chantal Commettant from St Louis Bombers and Anna-Rita Adelaide from Juniors.  The team have also lost Mandy Payet to Rainbow United.

Friends, on the other hand, have acquired the services of Nita Hoareau from Santa West, setter Melina Crispin and Florence Lesperance (both from Juniors), but have lost Tracy Servina and Solana Camille to Rainbow United who have joined the women’s top league after winning the bottom division title last year. Friends have also lost Rita Ladouce and Rose-Marie Antoine to newly formed La Digue Warriors who will play in the second tier.

Last year’s SVF Shield winners Cascade will this season parade new recruits Petra Richard, Petrina Mellie, Geneviève Nicette and Flora Lesperance from disbanded Juniors.
The other female player to change team this year is Suzanne Florentine who has left Roots Sisters to join newly formed Constance Ephelia Resort in the second division.

The women’s top flight will comprise seven teams – Friends, Cascade, Arsu, La Digue, Rainbow United, Santa West and Praslin Volleyball Club – and they play two rounds. Juniors and OSC Comets have disbanded.

The women’s division two is made up of Port Glaud United (formerly Roots Sisters), Island Girls, St Louis Bombers, Saints United, Bel Ombre Shadows, Mont Fleuri, Cadettes, Constance Ephelia Resort and La Digue Warriors.
The men’s bottom division comprises six teams – La Digue, Outsiders, Juniors, Air Waves, Grand Anse Praslin (GAP) Boys and BSA Spikers.

La Digue were supposed to play in the top flight this season after winning the division two title last year, but declined the opportunity.
Air Waves have, for their part, recruited Peter Benoit from Anse Royale, as well as Mervin Annette and Steven Bertin from Juniors.

Rama Lesperance, Marlon Esparon and Franchesco Estico have also left Juniors for first divisioners Neo Boyz who seem to have the necessary ammunition to rival Premium Spikers and Beau Vallon in the men’s top division which also includes Racing Club and Anse Royale. 
Other than the men’s top flight which will run over three rounds, the other championships will be of two.

G. G.

Send your comment :

Name *

Email *

Comment *