Vijay T-20 cricket league 2013 -Aarjay and Vijay ‘A’ win close encounters


The Aarjay team
But Ketan counter-attacked the Young Stars with the support of Sahajand and Young Stars fielders, they dropped six catches. Ketan scored 42 runs and Sahajand 20 to take Aarjay to a respectable total of 111. Dharmesh was the most successful bowler for Young Stars with four wickets.

In reply, Young Stars started very promisingly, openers Dharmesh and former Seychelles national team player Patrick Thomas scored runs with ease – 25 together. Ketan made the breakthrough for Aarjay by taking veteran Patrick’s wicket, and in the next over Arif took Dharmesh’s wicket. Patrick and Dharmesh made 11 and 16 runs respectively.

After that Young Stars lost wickets in regular interval, Antony, Byron and Rangan didn’t bother the scorer much. Milind scored some quick runs and gave some hopes to Young Stars with 17 runs before he got out.

 Young Stars needed run a ball 24 runs from the last 4 overs, Ashay was their last hope but he scored 10 runs before he was bowled by Ketan in the penultimate over and Young Stars finished the chase at the score of 103.

Ketan’s all-round performance gave Aarjay their first win in the competition.
Summary: Aarjay – 111 all out (Ketan 42, Sahajand 20, Dharmesh 4 for 11) beat Young Stars – 103 all out (Milind 17, Dharmesh 16, Ketan 4 for 14)

Manish and Mukesh stars in last over thriller

Vijay ‘A’ captain Dheeraj won the toss and chose to bat without any hesitation, but Eden Kings bowlers made early in-roads in the Vijay batting line-up. Eden Kings captain Harikrishnan and Manoj shared the first five wickets for just 31 runs in seven overs. Then Manish and Kanti joined in the middle and batted very sensibly and added 59 runs together for the sixth wicket. This partnership brought Vijay ‘A’ back into the game, before Khan got rid of both of them in the 16th over. Manish and Kanti made 31 and 20 runs respectively, while Mukesh and Dinesh joined in the middle and hit the balls with ease, scoring 18 runs apiece. Kings conceded 30 extra runs as well.

Vijay ‘A’ were bowled out in the last over for 142 runs. Harikrishnan and Khan shared six wickets for the Kings.
Eden kings started the chase very sensibly as openers Charles and Tarak laid a strong foundation for the chase. Tarak made 20 before he got out in the bowling of Aravind and Charles was undone by a bullet throw from Aravind from back-ward point.

Then Sajad and Ismail steadied the innings. Sajad made 18 runs from 11 balls before he was bowled by Dineesh. Murrey joined Ismail and kept the Kings in the chase. Murrey scored run a ball 20 runs before he was bowled by Seychelles national team captain Kaushal Patel. Dheeraj took the crucial wickets of Sandesh and Harikrishnan and checked the scoring rate. But Ismail kept Kings in the chase before he was bowled by Mukesh in the last over for 32 runs and Kings finished short by 9 runs.

Summary: Vijay A – 142 all out (Manish 31, Kanti 20, Harikrishnan 3 for 12, khan 3 for 24,) beat Eden Kings – 133 for 8 in 20 overs (Ismail 32, Tarak 20, Murrey 20, Mukesh 2 for 23, Dinesh 2 for 24

HK for Seychelles Cricket Association

Send your comment :

Name *

Email *

Comment *