Vijay T-20 cricket league -All-rounder Suranga stars in 777’s victory


The 777 team

After choosing to bat, 777 lost opener Gaurav in the very first over bowled by Seychelles international paceman Rajeev for four runs. That was the start of a top-order collapse as Arun, captain Krishna Naidoo and Alam were also back in the pavilion in a short time.

Then Suranga joined opener Nataraj and did the rescue work for 777 and added 35 useful runs. Nataraj scored 20 runs before Arctic Turn ran him out.

From there, Suranga carried 777’s innings on his shoulders, scoring run a ball 40 runs with All-rounder Surangathe help of five boundaries and two sixes before he was bowled by Pandey. Govind went through 777’s middle order by taking 3 wickets, and a late flourish from Parthibhan took 777’s score to 97. Parthibhan was bowled by Hari for 14 runs.

In reply, Arctic Turn lost Vijesh’s wicket for four runs as he was bowled by Arun in his first over.
Govind and Arun added 20 runs for the second wicket for Arctic Turn, but both of them got out in quick succession. Govind and Arun made 12 and 13 respectively and both were bowled by Arun and Seenu.

After that, everything went 777’s way as they picked wickets in regular interval and put the pressure on Arctic Turn. Sanjay Kunder counter-attacked with some mighty blows, but captain Naidoo bowled Sanjay Kunder for 19 runs. Then, Suranga went through the tail of Arctic Turn, claiming 3 wickets. Rajeev was the only lower order batsman who showed some resistance, scoring 13 runs before he was bowled by Suranga.

Arun took the last wicket by bowling Ganesh for 3 runs and Arctic Turn were short by 5 runs.

Summary: 777 – 97 all out (Suranga 40, Nataraj 20, Govind 3 for 10) beat Arctic Turn – 92 all out (Sanjay 19, Arun 3 for 12, Suranga  3 for 22).
Meanwhile, the other match between Lakstars and Patel Youth was cancelled due to bad weather.

On Sunday May 12 at the Roche Caïman field:  Vijay ‘B’ v/s Aarjay (morning match) and Eden Kings v/s Arctic Turn (afternoon match).

HK for Seychelles Cricket Association

Send your comment :

Name *

Email *

Comment *