Vijay T-20 cricket League -2013 -Patel Youth upset Lakstars in a last-ball thriller


Patel Youth team
Once again, Lakstars openers Janaka and Aruna provided them the best start. The pair added 47 runs for the opening wicket – 30 runs and 12 runs respectively. After that Lakstars captain Thusitha and Sohan Halpe steadied the Lakstars innings, adding 15 runs before Thushitha was bowled by Ajith – Patel Youth’s young gun. Sohan made 27 runs before he was caught in Ajith’s bowling. A late explosive batting by Sugath took Lakstars’ score to a fighting 124 runs. Sugath remained unbeaten on 22 runs. Ajith took three wickets for Patel Youth.

In reply, Patel Youth lost their first three wickets in quick succession, then Naresh and Paresh added 20 runs for the 4th wicket. Janaka broke the partnership by taking Naresh’s wicket for 12 runs.  V. Nitin was the next batsmen and he lost two partners – Vijesh and Dharmesh – at the other end. By then, Lakstars was in full control of the match. Then Prakash joined V. Nitin in the middle and fought hard to get them back into the chase. They needed 25 runs from the last 2 overs with Lakstars paceman Dharma bowling the penultimate over. He conceded 9 runs in that over. Patel Youth needed 16 runs from the last over and V. Nitin was on strike and he smashed the second ball for a boundary and the third one for a six. Then the equation was 6 runs from 3 balls. Sanka bowled two dot balls to make 6 runs from 1 ball. V. Nitin cleared the square leg boundary in the last ball and took his team over the line.

Both V. Nitin and Prakash were unbeaten on 29 runs from 22 balls and 22 runs from 10 balls respectively.  V. Nithin and Prakash pulled a dramatic victory for Patel Youth.
Summary: Lakstars – 124 for 7 in 18 overs (Janaka 30, Sohan Halpe 27, Sugath 22 N O, Ajith 3 for 26, Paresh 2 for 25) lost to Patel Youth – 125 for 7 in 18 overs (V. Nitin 29 not out, Prakash 22 not out, Janaka 3 for 24)

 Vijay ‘A’ thump Aarjay

After choosing to bat, Vijay ‘A’ openers added 26 runs for the opening stand. Dinesh and lalji scored 14 and 15 runs respectively. Then Aravind took the charge of Vijay innings. His power-packed innings took the match away from Aarjay and he didn’t spare any of their bowlers. He scored 75 runs from 39 balls with the help of eight boundaries and four sixes before he was caught in the bowling Sudesh.

After that Vijay ‘A’ captain Dheeraj finished their innings in style by scoring 31 runs from 17 balls and posted 170 runs on the board. Sudesh was the most successful bowler for Aarjay, bagging four wickets.

In reply, Aarjay lost the early wickets of Ketan and Maven. Both were undone by Vijay ‘A’ paceman Mukesh. Prakash was fighting at one end and wickets kept fumbling at the other end, Kaushal claimed three of them. Then Pradeep joined Prakash in the middle and added 78 runs for the 6th wicket.

Prakash scored 43 runs for his side and Pradeep remained unbeaten on 49 runs along with Siva and finished Aarjay’s innings for 126 runs. They lost the match by 44 runs.

Summary: Vijay ‘A’ – 170 for 7 in 20 overs (Aravind 75, Dheeraj 31, Sudesh 4 for 37) beat Aarjay – 126 for 6 in 20 overs (Pradeep 49, Prakash 43, Kaushal 3 for 20, Mukesh 2 for 18).

Upcoming fixtures: Patel Youth v Eden Kings (morning match) and 777 V Vijay ‘B’ (afternoon match) at the Roche Caïman cricket ground on Sunday June 9.

 HK for Seychelles Cricket Association

Send your comment :

Name *

Email *

Comment *