National Assembly - Long-serving members and staff honoured


The National Assembly of the third republic recently celebrated its silver jubilee and on the occasion, the legislative branch of the government rewarded its long serving members and staff for their dedication and commitment.

During a special ceremony held at the Savoy Hotel, Beau Vallon elected member for Cascade Charles De Commarmond received the award for longest- serving member, 25 years in total, while the leader of the opposition in the National Assembly Wavel Ramkalawan was awarded the longest-serving member in the post, having clocked 20 years.

Elected member for the Grand Anse Mahé district Waven William was also on the awardee list for 20 years of service.

Ghislaine Thelermont, who works in the accounts section of the institution, received the award for longest-serving staff after spending 18 years of service.

Addressing the guests at the ceremony, in the presence of the Speaker of the National Assembly Nicholas Prea and Deputy Speaker Ahmed Afif, Clerk of the National Assembly, Jutta Alexis, said the self-worth of the long-serving members and employees of the institution is recognised and greatly appreciated.

“The Assembly has a heartbeat, precisely because you gave everything, from body and soul to make it functional from inception,” she noted.

She further added that they cannot be thanked for that, as loyalty and reliability have become precious attributes we cannot do without in striving to attain the vision and mission and to get the important tasks done.

She also added that it is cause for celebration as over ten employees and members are receiving tokens of recognition from the organisation’s secretariat.

“Although the gesture is quite modest when compared to the amount of loyalty, energy and hard work that you invest daily, to us, it is a way of saying thank you,” she added.

On his part, Speaker Prea thanked the secretariat members for their commitment and devotion in working for the organisation.

Other than MNA De Commarmond, William, Ramkalawan and staff member Thelermont, Samia Lebon and Jim David were awarded for seven years of service with the secretariat.

Stanley Allagain and Joan Vidot were awarded for six years of service, while Sheryl Rangasamy, Petra Tirant, Janet Bradburn and Tania Isaac were awarded for five years of loyal service.

A rather timid Mrs Thelermont said it is mainly the love for the job, which she started in the year 2000, that has kept her for so long.

“I never realised that time was flying so fast, as I just come in every morning and do my job,” said Mrs Thelermont.

As for former maths and science teacher Charles De Commarmond, he attributed the long service to his constituency who entrusted him as their MNA.

Mr De Commarmond noted that being a member of the National Assembly is not new to him, since he was member of the ‘Lasanble Popiler’ during the one party era.

Strongly believing in giving other people the chance to prove themselves, Mr De Commarmond said he is willing to step aside and allow the new generation to take over and carry the work further.


Send your comment :

Name *

Email *

Comment *