Football-Airtel sponsorship enters 10th season


Mr Randriamampionona., SFF chairman Decommarmond hold a giant model of the cheque in the presence of SFF and Airtel officials and team’s representatives

Airtel managing director Tsiresy Randriamampionona handed over a cheque for R200,000 to new Seychelles Football Federation (SFF) chairman Joel Decommarmond during a ceremony yesterday afternoon at the company’s head office at Providence.

Present were SFF executive committee members, Airtel staff and representatives of first division football clubs.

Mr Decommarmond thanked Airtel for sponsorship and said he is happy the local telecommunications company has agreed to continue sponsoring the event.

The SFF boss added that following a meeting with Mr Randriamampionona it was agreed that Airtel would support some future big plans.

For his part, Mr Randriamampionona said Airtel is there to support the SFF through the Airtel Cup.

“Airtel is interested in developing sports, especially football, in Africa and bring its support in helping kids grow in a safe environment.

“We believe in the values football brings to a nation and we look forward to expanding our relationship with the SFF,” said Mr Randriamampionona.

Half of the R200,000 sponsorship will be shared among the 10 competing teams – St Michel, St Louis Suns, La Passe, Anse Reunion, LightStars, St Roch, Northern Dynamo, Quincy, St Francis and Côte d’Or – who all play in the first division. The Airtel Cup is reserved for top flight teams.

This year, defending champions St Michel will play in pool A of the Airtel Cup. The Anse Aux Pins-based side have been drawn alongside St Francis, La Passe, LightStars and Quincy.

Pool B is made up of Northern Dynamo, St Louis Suns, St Roch, Anse Reunion and Côte d’Or.
The teams will meet each other twice on a league format in their respective pools. The top-two sides will then move on to the cross knockout semifinals.

St Michel retained the trophy with a convincing 4-2 victory over La Digue-based La Passe at Stad Linite in last year’s final.

It was the team’s fourth consecutive win brining their number of triumphs to five – 2004, 2008, 2009, 2010 and 2011.

The other Airtel Cup winners are La Passe (2003), Red Star (2005, 2006), Anse Reunion (2007).
Airtel doubled its contribution from R100,000 to R200,000 in 2007.

G. G.