Anse Aux Pins voters go to the polls today-By-election


In fact, voting in the Anse Aux Pins by-election started on Wednesday on the outer and inner islands for voters registered in Anse Aux Pins but who are temporarily residing or working on these islands.

Voting today will take place in the Anse Aux Pins primary school dining hall from 7am to 7pm.

Earlier this week, the Office of the Electoral Commission had appealed to all employers to consider early release of their employees eligible to vote in today’s by-election at Anse Aux Pins.

This is to enable maximum participation and to allow these voters to exercise their civic duty, said the commission.

The three candidates contesting the by-election are Meggy Marie of Parti Lepep, Jane Carpin of the Popular Democratic Movement (PDM) and independent candidate Lucas Georges.

The National Assembly seat for Anse Aux Pins fell vacant when former member Jhowla Manoo tendered his resignation on July 11, 2012.