Windsurfing: Mahe-Praslin crossing-Stravens wins tenth crossing way off record time


Stephen Stravens won his tenth Mahe-Praslin crossing

Stravens won the race -- which attracted six windsurfers -- in 1 hour 45 minutes 51 seconds (1h45:51), almost 50 minutes outside his record of 57 minutes 51.62 seconds (57:51.62) set in 2002.

Laser specialist Allan Julie finished second in 1 hour 46 minutes 06 seconds (1hr46:06), ahead of Bertrand Lablache who was third in 1 hour 48 minutes 26 seconds (1hr48:26).

Top three finishers (from right to left) Stravens, Julie and Lablache

Danny Gertrude was fourth overall in 1 hour 51 minutes 52 seconds (1hr51:52).
Jean-Marc Gardette and Jacquelin Languilla did not complete the race.