Darts-Reuben Port-Louis top player as Hard Target win Mohan league


   First time male player of the year Reuben Port-Louis              Five-time female darts player of the year Debra Port-Louis

This good result coupled with his exploits in the Association doubles, Sacos doubles, and Premium Throws doubles alongside Nichol Esparon has earned Port-Louis the darts player of the year title for the first time with 85 points.

His wife Debra Port-Louis (formerly Desaubin) is the female player of the year for the fifth time in a row after amassing 10 points to be ranked 19th out of 35 players.

A member of the Direct Arrows team who settled for third place in the six-team league, Port-Louis won 44 games and also had a highest bull finish of 101.

“Winning the male darts player of the year title is a lifetime achievement. I played well this year, winning three of the four doubles tournaments on the calendar.  I’m happy I played well in the last tournament because if I had put a foot wrong, Terrance (Hallock) would have won the player of the year title,” said Reuben Port-Louis.

The 27-year-old added that “next year I will go in search of some singles win in a bid to retain the title.”
Introduced to darts by Reuben, Debra Port-Louis told Sports Nation in a telephone conversation that although there are only three female players taking part in local competitions, competing against men and grinding wins against some of them gives her hope for the future.
“I’m happy when I play and win against men, but I am seriously thinking of taking part in an international competition next year to test my level of play with other foreign female players,” said the 26-year-old.

Comprising Monia Delpech, Collin Esparon, Nichol Esparon, Ranga Chetty and Terrance Hallock, the Hard Target team won 12 of their 15 matches. They also earned two draws and lost one game for 38 points as they finished with a score of 158 for and 66 against.

Six teams took part in the three-round league and in second place with 34 points after claiming 11 wins, a draw and three defeats were Barclay Ami Dart made up of Bernard Berlouis, Antonio Gomme, Jean Belle, Justin Hermitte, Eric Frost and Gerard Pierre.

Port-Louis’ Direct Arrows collected seven victories, two draws and six losses in 15 games played. He had as teammates Richard Irimani, Arthur Pool, Ralph Samynadin, Joel Celtel and Debra Desaubin. They finished with 23 points.

Premium Throws, made up of Paul Vidot, Jack Micock, Percy Quatre, Patrick Radegonde, Kelvin Gertrude, Jean Andrade and Mike Rachel, took fourth position with 22 points after collecting seven wins, a draw and seven losses.

In fifth place are Straight Arrows, comprising Darel Simeon, Hans Radegonde, Louis Leopold and Savio Lesperance with 15 points (five wins and 10 losses).

Asian Darts Club with Prabu Chetty, Alex Chetty, Charles Amarnath and Logu Vendhan finished sixth after losing all their 15 games.

Like Port-Louis, Collin Esparon of league winners Hard Target finished with 44 wins.
In the overall ranking, Hard Target’s Terrance Hallock has finished second to Port-Louis with 73 points and Nichol Esparon finished third with 62.

G. G.