Present and past champions get sports ambassadors’ duty


Photos of the sports ambassadors who were present at yesterday’s event

The list of ambassadors was revealed yesterday at the launch of an exhibition to commemorate 30 years of the NSC.

The sports ambassadors have all been selected due to their sporting talent, and more importantly, due to their exceptional commitment and ability as leaders or volunteers.
The programme also seeks to develop leaders and volunteers further by providing them with the responsibility of being an ambassador for sports.

The first group of sports ambassadors comprises all athletes who have been chosen Sportsmen and Sportswomen of the Year. They are windsurfer Barbara Habayeb (1985), volleyballer Thelma Pierre-Louis (1986), squash player Giovanna Rousseau (1987), basketballer Lina Lestrange (1988), swimmer Elke Talma (1989), volleyballer Marie-Ange Quatre (now Bouchereau, 1990), basketballer Simone Asba (1991), athlete Mirenda Francourt (1992 and 1994), athlete Beryl Laramé (1993), chessler Amelie Payet (1995), athlete Lindy Leveau-Agricole (1996, 2005, 2008 and 2009), volleyballer Jerina Bonne (1997), volleyballer Yvonne Legaie (1998), weightlifter Sophia Vandagne (1999), badminton player Juliette Ah-Wan (2000 and 2007), athlete Helda Marie (2001), weightlifter Janet Georges (formerly Thélermont, 2002, 2004, 2006 and 2010), swimmer Shrone Austin (2003), badminton player Alisen Camille (2011), footballer Mike Mancienne (1984), boxer Ralph Labrosse (1985), athlete Albert Marie (1986), boxer Jerry Legras (1987, 1996 and 1997), footballer Bernard Dorasamy (1988), boxer Rival Cadeau (now Payet, 1989, 1993, 1994 and 1995), athlete Paul Nioze (1990), boxer Roland Raforme (1991), athlete Danny Beauchamp (1992), swimmer Kenny Roberts (1998), swimmer Benjamin Lo-Pinto (1999), Laser sailor Allan Julie (2000, 2001, 2002, 2004, 2005, and 2011), weightlifter Steven Baccus (2003), badminton player Georgie Cupidon (2006 and 2007), canoeist Tony Lespoir (2008), badminton player Steve Malcouzane (2009), and weightlifter Terrence Dixie (2010).

The ambassadors will also include other outstanding sports persons before the sports awards programme was introduced or those whose nature of their sports make it difficult for them to win the sportsman and sportswoman titles. Sports persons who have reached international standard from other pillars of sports like officiating, coaching and administration have also been selected.

R. D.