Socga’s annual general meeting-New executive committee to be elected tomorrow


This will be during the local Olympic body’s annual general meeting at the National Baha’i Centre, Bel Air and the new executive committee members will serve a four-year term.

Antonio Gopal will be vying to be re-elected president of Socga, which represents both the International Olympic Committee (IOC) and Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF).

His only challenger for the post is Ronald Wong, a member of the Seychelles Volleyball Federation.

Current vice-president Hughes Adam is also running for re-election and he will be challenged by Jeffery Lagrenade, the secretary of the Seychelles Hockey Federation.

Seychelles Weightlifting Association secretary Barbara Hoareau is vying to replace Alain Alcindor as Socga’s secretary general, while incumbent treasurer Mary Banane is up against Seychelles Tennis Association’s secretary general Charlie Ng Ping Cheun for the post of treasurer.

The 12 candidates running for the five ordinary member posts are Selby Dora, Michel Bau, Tracey Hétimier, Donald Celestine, Norbert Dogley, Simon Lespoir, Barbara Hoareau, Jeffrey Lagrenade, Bernard Denis, Gary Albert, Charlie Ng Ping Cheun and Lucas Georges.

Bau, Dora, Lespoir, Célestine and Hétimier are the outgoing ordinary members.
Socga was previously known as Seychelles National Olympic Committee (Snoc) until March 2007. Snoc came into existence in 1979 when Seychelles became a member of the IOC.
It will be interesting to see what will be the composition of the new Socga executive committee elected into office by the assembly.

Representatives of the athletes’ commission and the 23 associations and federations affiliated to Socga are allowed to vote during the elections.

The 23 sports federations and associations are track and field athletics, boxing, basketball, badminton, volleyball, football, table tennis, tennis, swimming, judo, karate, rugby, handball, hockey, petanque, canoeing, chess, cycling, squash, gymnastics, weightlifting, yachting and netball.

The athletes’ commission and all the 23 associations and federations have one vote.
Sports federations and associations nominate candidates, who are then elected by secret ballot to serve on Socga’s executive committee.

Candidates need not be members of any federation or association, but they have to be nominated by sporting federations and associations who are members of Socga.
Five of the nine Socga executive committee members must come from sports represented in the summer Olympic Games.

G. G.