Darts-Berlouis successfully defends curtain-raiser title


Berlouis has retained his curtain-raiser tournament title

After succeeding Ranga Chetty as the winner last year, Berlouis dominated the tournament organised by the Seychelles Darts Association and contested by 14 players at the Cascade community centre.

In the final, Berlouis, the only player to register six wins in the round-robin phase, met Justin Hermitte and he won the best-of-seven final 4-1. Berlouis took the first two sets before Hermitte cut his lead to 2-1, but he regained his composure to claim the next two games to close the match at 4-1.

After topping pool ‘B’, Berlouis beat Paul Vidot 2-0 in the best-of-three quarterfinal and whitewashed Nichol Esparon 3-0 in the best-of-five semifinal.
In third place was Michel Esparon who beat Jack Micock 3-0 in the third place playoff match.

Esparon also threw a 180 – the highest score in darts.

Past winners of the curtain-raiser tournament are: James Morel (in 2001, 2003, 2004 and 2005), Marc Pouponneau (2002), Donald Monnaie (2006), Keven Furneau (2007), Patrick Radegonde (2008), Paul Vidot (2009), Terrance Hallock (2010), Ranga Chetty (2011) and Bernard Berlouis (2012).

G. G.