Seychelles National Youth Council (SNYC) annual general meeting-Vanessa Seth elected new chairperson


The newly elected executive committee of the council with Mrs Van Der Westhuizen

Naddy Zialor is the new vice-chairman, and the five ordinary members are Davis Mathiot, Beryl Payet, Davis Andre, Natanielle Crispin and Denis Antat.

The event was held at the Seychelles Trading Company’s conference room in the presence of SNYC chief executive Vicky Van Der Westhuizen, director general for youth affairs Fatoumata Sylla, and principal secretary in the Vice-President’s Office Jeanne Simeon.

The outgoing chairman Jean-Paul Talma gave a presentation where he explained that the SNYC is tasked with overseeing youth development through various programmes, including educational, social, sports, spiritual health, welfare, environmental, cultural and inter-generation exchanges and recreational on Mahé, Praslin and La Digue.

“A total of 401 activities (406 in 2011) were organised at district level in 2012, showing a decrease of 1.23%, and 47 (28 in 2011 and 20 in 2010) regional activities were organised during the past year. This reflects a 68% increase in activities organised at regional level,” he said.

He also named some of the activities that the council had organised or taken part in, such as meetings and forums at district level, National Day celebrations, Carnaval Internationale de Victoria, Creole Festival and the Youth Festival.

Among his recommendations for the new board were elaboration of a five-year strategic plan, more preventive workshops that will complement the counselling unit, more integration of skills earned in workshop in activities by youth workers, and diversification of programmes and activities.
The new board’s appointment takes effect immediately.