Vijay T-20 cricket league 2013 -Easy wins for Vijay ‘B’ and Eden Island Kings


They lost both openers in quick succession before Ibrahim and Iqbal joined in the middle to steady Vijay ‘B’ innings, adding 56 runs for the 3rd wicket. Suresh ended the partnership by taking Ibrahim’s wicket, scoring 25 valuable runs for his side. After that Dinesh joined Iqbal and continued to punish the Aarjay bowlers. They both added 44 runs for the 4th wicket. Iqbal scored a power packed 48 runs with the help of 3 sixes and 4 boundaries before he was caught in deep in the bowling of Shejad. Dinesh made 19 runs with the help of 4 boundaries and took the Vijay ‘B’ score to a very respectable 134 runs in 20 overs.

Vinod was the most successful bowler for Aarjay, taking 3 wickets and he was supported by Shejad who took 2 wickets.

In reply, Aarjay lost opener Meaan for 6 runs and batsman Chetan for zero in the 3rd over. Both wickets were taken by Iqbal. Vijay ‘B’ controlled the match by taking Aarjay wickets in regular intervals. Pradeep and Shejad joined in the middle for Aarjay and started counter-attacking, adding 51 runs for the 6th wicket. Shejad made 34 runs with the help of 3 sixes and 2 boundaries and his partner Pradeep made run-a-ball 26 runs. Both got out in a short lapse of time and Aarjay bundled out for 97 runs. Iqbal took 3 wickets for Vijay ‘B’ who won with ease.

Summary: Vijay ‘B’ – 134 for 8 (Iqbal 48, Ibrahim 25, Vinod 3 for 12, Shejad 2 for 14) beat Aarjay – 97 all out (Shejad 34, Pradeep 26, Iqbal 3 for 25)

Eden Island Kings v/s Arctic Turn

After choosing to bat, Eden Kings lost the early wickets of Harikrishnan and Sandesh Kunder in two consecutive balls – both bowled by Arctic Turn pacer Pandey in his second over.

Then Tim Horpinitch joined Murray Clarke in the middle and batted sensibly to take the Kings out of trouble. They added 40 runs for the 3rd wicket with Murray scoring 28 runs before he got out on the bowling of Jaffer.  Then veteran Arup Das joined Tim in the middle and steadied the Kings’ innings. Arup showed his experience by rotating the strike and at the other end Tim batted with sensible aggression. Tim made 26 runs before he was bowled byManoj Jaffer, then Arup Das anchored the Kings’ innings with middle and lower order batsmen, taking them to a fighting total of 115. They were unbeaten in 16 runs. Pandey was the most successful bowler for Arctic Turn as his brilliant bowling resulted in a 4-wicket haul.

In reply, Artic Turn got the worst possible start as Manoj and Tim went through Arctic Turn’s top order. They both shared the first five wickets for just 14 runs in the first 6 overs.
After that, they were not able to continue the chase, if not for a late gutsy attempt by their lower order batsmen who gave some respect to their total. Pandey and captain Rajeev added 29 runs for the 7th wicket and the 32-run partnership for the 8th wicket between Rajeev and Vivek cut the deficit.

Vivek was the top scorer for Arctic Turn, scoring 19 runs, followed by captain Rajeev and Pandey who made 18 and 16 runs respectively. Eden Kings paceman Manoj finished the match in style by bowling Prabha to claim his fourth wicket. Manoj took four wickets for just 6 runs.

Summary: Eden Island Kings – 115 for 9 Murray 28, Tim 26, Arup Das 16, Pandey 4 for 16) beat Arctic Turn – 95 all out (Vivek 19, Rajeev 18, Manoj 4 for 6, Tim 3 for 19).