Vijay T-20 cricket league -Lakstars outplay 777


Lakstars’ Aruna made 53 not out against 777 Then Natraj joined captain Krishna Naidoo and steadied the 777 innings as they both added 25 runs for the second wicket before they were undone by Lakstars’ leggy Sohan. Then Suranga and Shiva batted sensibly and added 30 runs for the 4th wicket. Suranga made 24 runs before he was caught by Janaka in the bowling of Sugath. Then Sanka took the wickets of Shiva for 15 runs and Banty for zero in quick succession.

Parthi and Shabeer took 777’s score to a fighting 108 – both were unbeaten on 13 and 8 runs respectively. Sanka took 3 wickets for Lakstars and was very well supported by Sohan and Sugath who shared 4 wickets.

In reply, Lakstars openers Aruna and Janaka gave them the best start as they added 62 for the first wicket, and their third fifty-plus partnership in the tournament. Both batted with aggression and didn’t spare any of the 777 bowlers. The opening stand took the match away from 777. Shabeer gave the first breakthrough for 777 by taking Janaka’s wicket, made 30 runs before he was caught by Banty. Then Shabeer sent back Dharma and Shohan quickly and gave 777 some hope. But Aruna batted sensibly and took his team over the line in the 17th over. He remained unbeaten on 53 runs from 47 balls with the help of four boundaries and two sixes.

Summary: 777 – 108 for 9 in 20 overs (Suranga 24, Krishna Naidoo 16, Shiva 15, Sanka 3 for 16, Sohan 2 for 22) lost to Lakstars – 109 for 5 in 17 overs (Aruna 53 not out, Janaka 30, Shabeer 3 for 10).

 All-rounder Govind win nail-biter for Arctic Turn
After choosing to bat, Arctic Turn lost wickets in quick succession as Vijesh, Sanjay Kunder, Mukesh and Arun were back in the hut at the score 17 runs.

Then Bharat joined opener Govind and started the rescue work for Arctic Turn. Govind batted sensibly, while Bharat batted with aggression and the pair added 95 runs for the fifth wicket. Bharat innings was packed with sixes and boundaries, scoring 54 runs from 26 balls with the help of four boundaries and 5 sixes.

On the other side, opener Govind scored 51 runs from 41 balls before he was bowled by Aarjay’s captain Gaurang Patel. After this partnership, Aarjay’s pacer Vinod took three wickets and finished Arctic Turn’s innings for 142 runs.

In reply, Aarjay lost both openers quickly, then Mavan and Ketan joined in the middle and started the rebuilding. They both added 32 runs for the third wicket, Ketan making 13 runs before he was bowled by Govind. Rudesh joined Mavan and put Aarjay back in the chase. They added 52 for the fourth wicket, Mavan scoring 47 runs from 26 balls with the help of three boundaries and three sixes before he was bowled by Govind.

The match was evenly poised at that time, but Arctic Turn bowlers held their nerves and kept in check by taking wickets. Aarjay finished the chase with a deficit of 6 runs in the 18th over. Govind and Hari shared five wickets for Arctic Turn.

Summary: Arctic Turn – 142 all out (Govind 51, Bharat 54, Vinod 3 for 17, Gourang 2 for 24,) beat Aarjay  – 136 All out (Mavan 47,Rudesh 25,Govind 3 for 20,Hari 2 for 25 )
HK for Seychelles Cricket Association