37th annual Inter-School Athletics Championships-Anse Royale, SPA retain secondary and post-secondary titles


Dianne Nioze was instrumental in leading the Seychelles Police Academy to winning the overall title

The organisers of the event released the good results yesterday after reviewing the results announced at the end of the championships on Saturday afternoon during the prize presentation ceremony at Stad Linite.

Seychelles Nation deliberately did not publish the cup winners as it immediately found out that the results announced on the day contained some errors.

“We’ve made a full review of the results and found out there were some errors. We called in all schools affected by these changes yesterday and explained to them what happened. The Ministry of Education wishes to express its regret for the inconveniences caused to the schools’ management, athletes, team managers, parents and supporters by the final review of the results,” said Wilfred Adrien, the director of the physical education and co-curriculum support section within the Ministry of Education.

The ministry also availed of the opportunity to express its sincere gratitude to all those who in a way or another contributed to the success of the championships. 
Although they were unhappy with some of the results announced on the day as they knew something wrong must have happened, the teams dealt with the situation in a very disciplined way.

President James Michel, Vice-President Danny Faure, Designated Minister Vincent Meriton, other ministers, members of the National Assembly and of the diplomatic corps, high government officials, parents and schoolchildren attended the event contested by athletes from state and private educational institutions.

Anse Royale, SPA keep titles

SPA won the best post-secondary school title for the third year running since dethroning Maritime Training Centre (MTC) in 2011 and retaining the crown in 2012. They finished with 133 points
After reclaiming the best secondary school in 2012 from Praslin who broke their heart in 2010 by succeeding them as secondary champions, Anse Royale kept the piece of silverware with 257 points.

After returning as primary winners in 2010 following a very long wait, La Digue could not make it four wins in a row as La Rosière dethroned them by amassing 108 points.
Runners-up last year, Bel Eau succeeded Grand Anse Praslin as the special under-14 primary cup winners with 7 points.

After winning the best small primary school title in 2011 – the year it was introduced – Au Cap retained it after again amassing 56 points. Takamaka (28 points) and La Retraite (20) were second and third.

Baie Lazare is the winner of the best small primary school title with 42 points, to dethrone Au Cap who had won the title over the last two years. The title was first introduced in 2011.

As for the three titles introduced this year for primary, secondary and post-secondary schools with the highest gold medals, the winners are La Digue (primary with 7 gold medals), Anse Boileau (secondary with 11 gold medals) and Seychelles Police Academy (post-secondary with 6 gold medals).

The following are this year’s category winners: La Digue primary (girls’ under 8 with 20 points, girls’ under 14 with 33 points), Pointe Larue primary (boys’ under 8 with 19 points), Plaisance primary (girls’ U10 with 26 points), La Rosière primary (boys’ U10 with 23 points, boys’ U12 with 35 points), Perseverance primary (girls’ U12 with 42 points), Pointe Larue secondary (boys’ U14 with 50 points, boys’ U18 with 60 points), Anse Royale secondary (girls’ U16 with 86 points), Praslin secondary (boys’ U16 with 66 points), Plaisance secondary (girls’ U18 with 66 points), Seychelles Police Academy (girls’ open with 74 points), and Seychelles Institute of Technology (boys’ open with 65 points).

La Digue succeeded Cascade as the President’s Fair Play Cup for competitors at primary level, while Praslin took the secondary level cup from La Digue.
Seychelles Police Academy retained the President’s Fair Play Cup for competitors in the post-secondary category for the third year running.
President Michel gave out the Fair Play cups.
The championships produced 15 records

G. G.