Follow us on:

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube


Seychelles Handball Federation (SHF) Cup | 16 November 2019

MF Storm complete double


  • AC Brothers return as champions


MF Storm have completed a league and cup double after triumphing in the women’s Seychelles Handball Federation (SHF) Cup, but their coach Danny Philoé could not guide his men’s team Super 8 to victory as they lost to AC Brothers.

In the women’s final, MF Storm met their greatest rivals Au Cap Sisters and they triumphed 23-19 to end the season with a league and cup double.

In the semifinal, MF Storm picked up a 31-6 win against Anse Royale Sisters who eliminated Peal United on a 25-22 in the quarterfinal.

Au Cap Sisters booked their place in the final with a 46-36 win over APC Sisters in the other semifinal.

In the men’s final, AC Brothers beat league champions Super 8 42-38 to take home the title. The loss stopped Super 8 from achieving a league and cup double.

To reach the final, AC Brothers edged Durantha Brothers 37-26 in the semifinal, while Super 8 thrashed Silver Stars 41-29 in the other last-four clash.

Earlier in the season, MF Storm returned as women’s league champions after a two-year hiatus despite losing a decisive match 18-22 against Au Cap Sisters on September 28.

They were crowned league winners due to their superior goal difference on the head-to-head rule. Both MF Storm and Au Cap Sisters concluded the league on 22 points after seven wins and a loss apiece.

A win would have seen MF Storm being crowned with an unbeaten league run, after they defeated their major rivals 24-17 in their first-round match.

If Au Cap Sisters were to be crowned champions, they needed a win by more than seven goals which did not happen.

MF Storm have won the league crown 10 times – in 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016 and 2019.

As for Super 8, they are this year’s men’s league winners after collecting a 36-32 victory against defending champions Durantha Brothers in a rescheduled match.

It had been three years since Super 8 had last won the Mohan Shopping Centre-sponsored league title in 2016.

Super 8 won the title five years in a row ‒ 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, and 2014 ‒ before AC Brothers dethroned them in 2015. Super 8 returned as champions in 2016.


Gerard Govinden


More news