Follow us on:

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube


Football: Bangabandhu Gold Cup 2020 National selection leave for Bangladesh on Monday | 11 January 2020

The Seychelles national selection will leave the country on Monday January 13 for their first international mission of the year which is the Bangabandhu Gold Cup which will take place in Bangladesh from January 15-25.

For the tournament, Team Seychelles will be under the guidance of coach Ralph Jean Louis who has been called in to work with the squad. Jean Louis is expected to be the next national team coach since he has applied for the job.

Coach Jean Louis is the first coach to ever win the Indian Ocean Island Games (IOIG) gold medal and he achieved the feat while in charge of the national team during the 8th Games held on home soil in 2011.

Seychelles beat Mauritius in the final after a penalty shootout.

The Bangladeshi competition, also known as The Bangabandhu Gold Cup, is an international football tournament organised by the Bangladesh Football Federation (BFF) as a tribute to Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman who is considered as the founding father of Bangladesh.

It has been played sporadically since 1996, and was resurrected in 2015.

Up to the 2016, most of the participating countries in the tournament sent their youth national teams, their second teams or club sides.

In 2018, all participating nations sent their first team except the Philippines.

Palestine are the champions, after defeating Tajikistan in the 2018 tournament.


The Seychelles delegation


Goalkeepers: Ian Ah-Kong (La Passe), Madrid Adrienne (Real Maldives), Alvin Michel (St Michel)

Defenders: Warren Mellie (Foresters), Julio Brown (Côte d’Or), Stan Esther (Northern Dynamo), Juninho Mathiot (St Louis), Yanick Manoo (St Michel), Andrew Onezia (Red Star Defence Forces), Fabio Lemiel (LightStars), Brandon Molle (Foresters)

Midfielders: Colin Bibi (St Louis), Brandon Labrosse (Foresters), Nigel Hoareau (St Louis), Karl Hall (St Louis), Norris Bibi (St Michel), Gervais Waye-Hive (St Louis), Martin Williams (Foresters)

Strikers: Elijah Tamboo (St Louis), Hubert Jean (St Louis), Perry Monnaie (Côte d’Or), Josip Ravigna(Real Maldives) and Darell Damou (Red Star Defence Forces).

Head coach: Ralph Jean Louis

Assistant coach: Bruno Saindini

Assistant coach: Don Anacoura

Assistant coach: Nigel Moustache

Medical officer: Juan Michel

Head of delegation: Dolor Ernesta

General coordinator: Michael Delpech


Roland Duval


More news