Follow us on:

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube

Archive -Seychelles

29th annual congress of Parti Lepep |06 June 2015




Congress endorses James Michel as presidential candidate

Parti Lepep has endorsed James Michel as its presidential candidate for the next elections and that was during its 29th congress yesterday at the International Conference Centre.

President Michel accepted the nomination and also named Danny Faure as his running mate, saying it’s an honour for him and Mr Faure to work for the people of Seychelles.

Yesterday’s 29th congress which also marked the 51st anniversary of the SPUP (Seychelles People’s United Party), SPPF (Seychelles People’s Progressive Front) and Parti Lepep was organised under the theme ‘The New Seychelles We Want’.

Thanking the delegates for the confidence shown in him, President Michel said he is “touched and emotional”.

“It is with a lot of humility that I accept this candidature for the next elections. It’s an honour to serve Parti Lepep, the people of Seychelles and to work for Seychelles. This will be my last mandate and I will help prepare my successor so that he will bring the party and the country to even greater heights,” said Mr Michel who noted that he will work hard for Parti Lepep until his death.

Another resolution passed by the assembly was the nomination of Parti Lepep’s 25 candidates for the legislative elections. They are Meggy Marie (Anse Aux Pins),  Bernard Arnephy (Anse Boileau),
Melval Dugasse (Anse Etoile), Marie-France Barra (Anse Royale), Murielle Marie (Au Cap), Marlène Alcindor (Baie Lazare), Churchill Gill (Baie Ste Anne Praslin), Mirena Souris (Beau Vallon), Nichole Barbé (Bel Air), Galen Bresson (Bel Ombre), Charles Decommarmond (Cascade), Wilbert Herminie (English River), David Payet (Glacis), Jessica Dogley (Grand Anse Mahé), Marc Volcère (Grand Anse Praslin), Noline Sophola (Inner Islands), Emmanuel Fideria (Les Mamelles), Michelle Sabury (Mont Buxton), Nelda Auguste (Mont Fleuri), Paul Laurence (Plaisance), Jude Valmont (Pointe Larue), Egbert Aglaé (Port Glaud), Audrey Sanders (Roche Caïman), Fabian Palmyre (St Louis) and Paul Ernesta (Takamaka).

Four other resolutions relating to education, health, decentralisation of government and election of district council, and democratisation of renewable energy based on the principle of accessibility and affordability were also passed.

“As the government will be injecting more money into education and health, we have to make our people understand that they should be more responsible towards their health and also get our children to take their studies more seriously.

“Parti Lepep will stay connected to the people and this is what makes it strong. Elections are won in districts and we have to work hard so as not to let the country fall into the hands of opportunists. We are Parti Lepep and all those who are not part of this party form part of the opposition,” said Mr Michel.

Four other resolutions expressing gratitude and support for President Michel; party founder and former President France Albert Rene; founding members and current ones of SPUP, SPPF and Parti Lepep; and all party members who have worked for its progress were also passed.




» Back to Archive