Follow us on:

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube


Michel Bristol replaces Alain Alcindor as chairman   |11 November 2021

Michel Bristol replaces Alain Alcindor as chairman   

Back row from left to right: Kenny Constance, Roy Govinden, Rodney Govinden, Jean-Marc Gardette and Alex Simon Front row from left to right: Alain Alcindor, Lucy Athanasius, Michel Bristol, Chantal Hoffman and Hebetty Alcindor Missing is Patrick André

Michel Bristol has replaced Alain Alcindor as Seychelles Yachting Association chairman.

Mr Bristol was voted into office along with other executive committee members during the Seychelles Yachting Association (SYA) annual general meeting held on Saturday November 6 at the Seychelles Olympic and Commonwealth Games Association (Socga) office, Roche Caïman, in the presence of a National Sports Council (NSC) official Ruudy Joseph.

During the meeting, SYA members aged 18 and above who were present, approved the audited report for 2020 and the auditor for 2021.

The election of the new executive committee was by secret ballot. Still keeping in line with the SYA constitution, which was approved by its members in October 2021 in an SGM, the new executive committee comprises 11 members as opposed to the previous 8, thus allowing for representation of all sailing classes.

Outgoing chairman Alain Alcindor thanked the members of the SYA for the confidence and support given to him as chair of the SYA executive committee over the last 31 years and explained his decision not to stand for another term as chairman.

The new SYA executive committee members were elected by a unanimous vote each with Michel Bristol elected as the new chairman, Lucy Athanasius as vice-chair, Hebetty Alcindor, Chantal Hoffman and Rodney Govinden retained their positions as secretary, treasurer and dinghy representative and Kenny Constance as ordinary members respectively.

Alain Alcindor is the Optimist representative, Jean-Marc Gardette windsurfing representative and Alex Simon kitesurfing representative, and the two ordinary members elected are Patrick André and Roy Govinden.

The committee will hold office for four years as per the SYA constitution 2021.



More news