Follow us on:

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube


4th Thiruvalluvar Cup Kabaddi Tournament |24 August 2023

4th Thiruvalluvar Cup Kabaddi Tournament

Thiruvalluvar Cup kabaddi tournament champions Ram & Ram Group (Photo: Contributed)

Ram & Ram Group crowned champions

Ram & Ram group are the grand winners of the fourth Thiruvalluvar Cup kabaddi tournament organised by the Seychelles Tamil Mandram on August 15 at the Beach Soccer Arena, at Roche Caïman.

The event started with the singing of the Tamil Thaai Vazhthu and the address of the chairman who encouraged the players to play safe, in the spirit of good sportsmanship.

The event was attended by more than 200 people including chief guest Karthik Pandey, High Commissioner of India to Seychelles, members of National Assembly for English River and St Louis – Andy Labonté and Sathya Naidu.

Four teams took part in the tournament this year and they all played against each other in a round-robin format, with the top two teams – Ram & Ram Group and Shreeji Group – qualifying for the final.

Team Murattu Kaalai finished third overall following their only win over Classic Barbarons, pushing the latter into fourth place overall without any win.

In the final, Ram & Ram Group won the toss and chose to raid. Ram & RAM Group (23 points) dominated Shreeji (20 points), winning by three points.

Tournament director Deepak Radhakrishnan thanked all guests and spectators who were present during the day and thanked all players for making the event successful.

He also thanked all sponsors, with a special thank you to Daya Constructions which provided grounds men for the tournament, making sure the ground was ready for the matches.

The prize winners will be awarded with the trophies and cash prize during the Aadi Thiruvizha celebrations on September 24 at the International Conference Centre Seychelles (ICCS).



Winner - Ram & Ram Group companies

Runners-up - Shreeji group

Third position - MurattuKalai

Best raider of the tournament – Srinivasalu Pati (Ram & Ram Group)

Best catcher of the tournament - Sachin Kunder (Ram & Ram Group)

Best player of the Tournament - Dipak Dabasiya (Shreeji Group)


Vidya Gappy

More news