Follow us on:

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube

National Assembly

LDS secures absolute majority in National Assembly |27 October 2020

With the elections held on October 22, 23 and 24, Linyon Demoktratik Seselwa (LDS) has for the second time secured majority seats in the National Assembly, this time securing two thirds of the parliament.

The party, who now holds power both over the executive and legislative arms of government, won 20 seats in the National Assembly elections and an additional five nominated seats, bringing the total to 25 seats, as compared to 10 total seats to United Seychelles (US) members, who have since 1977 consistently maintained majority seats in the Parliament until 2016 when LDS won a simple majority.

Electorates in 20 of the 26 districts, namely, Anse Aux Pins, Anse Boileau, Anse Etoile, Au Cap, Baie Lazare, Beau Vallon, Bel Air, Bel Ombre, Cascade, English River, Glacis, Grand Anse Mahé, Grand Anse Praslin, Ile Perseverance, Les Mamelles, Mont Buxton, Mont Fleuri, Plaisance, Saint Louis and Takamaka gave their votes to LDS candidates to be their voice in the next Parliament.

It also managed to consolidate seats in all 15 districts in which it for the first time won a simple majority during the 2016 National Assembly election, in addition to five new districts.

“We have gone from a situation whereby we had a simple majority, 15 to 10 and today this majority has increased to 20 to 6, which means that the National Assembly will have a two thirds majority. Two thirds means that there are sufficient members to effect changes to the Constitution. Immediately, now I say be careful, we need to take our responsibility seriously.”

“I want to make it known to all parties now, if there are any articles of the Constitution that we feel should be amended, LDS will not do so just because we have the majority. We will want national consultations, inter-party so we do not find ourselves making the same mistakes as there were in the past,” Mr Ramkalawan said on Sunday, after the official results were announced by the Electoral Commission of Seychelles (ECS).

Elected members of the National Assembly representing LDS are as follows;

Clifford Andre (Anse Aux Pins), Phillip Arissol (Anse Boileau), Georges Romain (Anse Etoile), Kelly Samynadin (Au Cap), François Adelaide (Baie Lazare), John Hoareau (Beau Vallon), Norbert Loizeau (Bel Air), Sandy Arissol (Bel Ombre), Philip Monthy (Cascade), Andy Labonte (English River) Regina Esparon (Glacis), Waven William (Grand Anse Mahé), Wavel Woodcock (Grand Anse Praslin), Desheila Bastienne (Ile Perseverance), Bernard Georges (Les Mamelles), Gervais Henrie (Mont Buxton), Michel Roucou (Mont Fleuri), Richard Labrosse (Plaisance), Sathyanarayanan Naidu (Saint Louis) and Terrence Mondon (Takamaka).

For the second time since 1977, United Seychelles (US) failed to secure a majority, winning only six seats from Anse Royale, Baie St Anne Praslin, Inner islands, Pointe Larue, Port Glaud and Roche Caiman, in addition to four proportional seats, and losing in many districts which were traditionally considered to be strongholds for the party.

Elected members of US to the assembly are: Sylvanne Lemiel (Anse Royale), Churchill Gill (Baie St Anne Praslin), Rocky Uranie (Inner islands), Conrad Gabriel (Pointe Larue), Egbert Aglae (Port Glaud) and Audrey Vidot (Roche Caiman).  

The other contesting parties, One Seychelles and Lalyans Seselwa did not manage to secure any seats.

A total of 65,978 voters exercised their right to vote for a National Assembly candidate in their respective districts of 74,634 eligible voters. Despite being held simultaneously, the total number of votes cast for the Presidential election differs slightly, and stands at 66,017. Seychelles NATION attempted to contact the ECS for an explanation as to the difference between the number of votes cast and was informed that such information will be made public towards Wednesday, once the commission resumes work.


Laura Pillay



More news