Follow us on:

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube

National Assembly

National Assembly |29 October 2020

National Assembly

Seventh cohort sworn in


The seventh cohort of the National Assembly was sworn in yesterday morning by outgoing Speaker Nicholas Prea.

Mr Prea was later succeeded by Linyon Demokratik Seselwa (LDS) proportionate member Roger Mancienne as Speaker.

In the afternoon session, LDS’ elected member for Mont Buxton Gervais Henrie was named the deputy Speaker. As for LDS’ elected member for Les Mamelles Bernard Georges he is the leader of government business.

United Seychelles’ proportionate member Sebastien Pillay is the leader of the opposition.

LDS got five proportionate seats in the National Assembly after winning 20 of the 26 districts for a total votes of 35,202 out the valid votes cast (64,194) in the October 22-24 election. This represents 54.8% of the votes.

As for United Seychelles, they garnered six districts to pick up four proportionate seats with 42.3% (27,185).

More news