Follow us on:

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube

National Assembly

National Assembly |11 December 2020

National Assembly

Members of the committee in a souvenir photograph with Speaker Mancienne after they had taken their oath (Photo credit: National Assembly secretariat)

Members of the Defence and Security Committee take their Oath of Secrecy


Members and secretaries of the Defence and Security Committee of the National Assembly took an Oath of Secrecy in the presence of the Speaker of the National Assembly, Roger Mancienne.

They swore not to communicate or divulge directly or indirectly any matters which are brought before the said committee and which are entrusted to them under secrecy, in line with the terms of reference of the committee.

This procedure was decided in a previous committee meeting as the members and secretaries of the committee will be exposed to sensitive information involving the Seychelles People’s Defence Forces, the Police Force and Intelligence Services.

The Oath of Secrecy is one which is of great importance, as the unauthorised publication or disclosure of those information can lead to a security risk being posed to the State.

The committee is chaired by Hon. Clifford Andre, vice-chaired by Hon. François Adelaide, and has five ordinary members, namely, Hon. Michel Roucou, Hon. Doyace Porice, Hon. Churchill Gill, Hon. Sandy Arissol and Hon. Sebastien Pillay.


Press release from the National Assembly secretariat

More news