Follow us on:

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube


Tourism Festival   12 tourism pioneers recognised |30 September 2023

Tourism Festival     12 tourism pioneers recognised

The pioneers (or their representatives) in a souvenir photograph with guests

Twelve (12) remarkable tourism pioneers were yesterday acknowledged for their invaluable contributions to the industry.

This recognition ceremony, held at the Seychelles Tourism Academy, paid tribute to these individuals, some of whom were honoured posthumously.

Their unwavering commitment and substantial impact on the country's tourism sector were commemorated.

They are Jean Paul Barallon, William Rose, Jean Baptiste Hortere, Tessie Ellinas, Danny Jeanne, Floriane Brioche, Octavie Michel, John Stravens, Godfrey Bonnelame and Jennie Ah-Kong including the late Tessie Ellinas, Helene Etienne and Harry Choppy.

The Minister for Foreign Affairs and Tourism, Sylvestre Radegonde, expressed heartfelt gratitude to all the pioneers.

He commended their dedication, tireless efforts, and passion, all of which played pivotal roles in transforming the tourism industry into a cornerstone of the nation's economy.

Minister Radegonde emphasized the importance of Seychellois entrepreneurs maintaining high standards, citing the pioneers as instrumental in reshaping the industry's landscape.

“Because of pioneers like you, today we are reaping the fruits. You have changed the landmark and we are continuing on what you started.”

On behalf of the pioneers, John Stravens thanked the Tourism department for such an honour and also spoke about the sacrifices made by all of them. 

The names of these honorees are now immortalised on ceramic tiles, displayed alongside other esteemed tourism pioneers at the Pioneers Park located at the Seychelles Tourism Academy.

Seychelles NATION will come back on this story with brief profiles of each of these remarkable individuals in a future issue.


Vidya Gappy

Photo by Louis Toussaint

More news