Follow us on:

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube


President Faure holds meeting with all Seychelles ambassadors |23 December 2019

President Faure holds meeting with all Seychelles ambassadors

The Seychelles ambassadors in a souvenir photograph with President Faure and Vice-President Meriton (Photo source: Office of the President)

President Danny Faure chaired a meeting with all ambassadors of Seychelles based overseas during a courtesy call by the diplomats at State House on Friday morning.

Alongside the president was Vice-President Vincent Meriton, who is also the minister responsible for the department of foreign affairs.

President Faure extended a warm welcome back to Seychelles to the ambassadors and conveyed his sincere appreciation to them for the excellent work they have been doing not only in line with promoting the image of Seychelles abroad, but translating diplomatic efforts into tangible results for the benefit of the Seychellois people.

“Today I would like to take the opportunity to commend you all for the excellent work that you are doing for the benefits of our people and communities. It is my hope that we continue working together for the betterment of our citizens, by remaining focused and keeping our people at the centre of all our actions and decisions,” said President Faure.

During the meeting, the ambassadors had the chance to brief the head of State on the status and daily operations of their respective overseas postings as well as share their views and ideas to better address and improve their work both on the international front and locally.

The ambassadors are currently in Seychelles attending the 2019 Ambassador’s Retreat. This year’s retreat was themed ‘Connect & Engage’ and was held from Monday December 16 to Friday December 20, 2019. The event reviewed and discussed the challenges that Seychelles faces as an island nation and also discussed national priorities and strategic objectives in shaping the country’s foreign policy.

Ambassadors present at State House yesterday morning included Ambassador Sylvestre Radegonde (the Dean), Ambassador Ronny Jumeau, Ambassador Dick Esparon, Ambassador Vivianne Fock Tave, High Commissioner Selby Pillay, High Commissioner Derick Ally, High Commissioner Marie-Antoinette Rose Quatre, Ambassador David Pierre, Ambassador Jean-Claude Adrienne, Ambassador Lalatiana Accouche and Chargé d’Affaires Gayathri Pillay.


Communiqué from the Office of the President

More news